WALAMI TRAIL – WATERFALLS AND SUSPENSION BRIDGES IN YUSHAN NATIONAL PARK


Mid-September 2017, I finally took leave from the World Inn hostel to get some adventures around Taiwan. My first goal was to spend at least one night in the mountains on the Walami Trail. It was still the typhoon season though and my plan fell (again) in the water. I spent one week on Lanyu Island instead (I really do have to tell you all about this amazing experience) and as I sailed back to Taiwan, the weather was finally sunny enough to go hiking. I didn’t have that much time and couldn’t spend the night in the woods, but I could still try to hike the Walami Trail in one day.

And really, between the waterfalls and suspension bridges, the Walami Trail totally won a special spot in my heart.

(Lis cet article en Français, bébé!)


The Walami Trail is the first section on the East Side of one famous hike in Taiwan: the Battongguan Crossing Trail. This trail is crossing Yushan National Park from East to West (or the other way around). It used to be an old path built on the XVIIIth century then restored under Japanese rule to connect both coasts but also grant a better control over the indigenous tribes around. Police stations from this time are to be found along the trail, even in the most remote areas. The whole 90 km hike from Yuli on the East Coast to Dongpu on the West would take approximately from 7 to 10 days, crossing the Central Mountain Range.

As for the Walami section, commonly called ‘Walami Trail’, it’s 14 km long and starts a few kilometres after the famous Nanan Waterfalls, in the Yuli surroundings. The duration of the entire hike and coming back may vary from one website to another, but it’s completely possible to hike the trail to the Walami Cabin and come back in one day. I’d say it would take approximately 8 hours to finish it. The first section of the Walami Trail, until Shanfeng or Jiaxin, is a popular hike amongst the Taiwanese who are used to go there on hot afternoons to enjoy the cool breeze of the waterfalls. I met nobody on the trail after Jiaxin, though.

If you’re thinking of hiking the entire Battongguan Crossing Trail, Robert Scott Kelly’s blog is full of useful information.

You’ll also find useful notes on the Offical Website of Yushan National Park.


TABLE OF CONTENTS


INTRODUCTION TO THE WALAMI (Who said Salami?) TRAIL

(Back to the top)


  • WHEN TO GO?

Well, as usual in Taiwan, it’s always better to hike when the weather is not too wet, but the Walami Trail is easy enough to be hiked all-year-round. However, from May to September, there could be heavy rainfalls, as well as typhoons, causing landslides and the closure of some trails. Some trails could also be closed in February for annual recovery, so make sure the trail is open for hikes.

You can check the current status of the trail on the official website right here:

CHECK THE TRAIL STATUS


  • HOW TO GET THERE?

Walami Trail’s trailhead starts about 25 km away from Yuli, about 6km after the Nanan Visitor Center and 4 km after the waterfalls of the same name. As I recall there is no public transportation that can help you get there from Yuli, so it’s better to rent a bicycle or a scooter, book a taxi or even have a go with hitchhiking. The perks of renting a scooter or a bicycle are that you can stop on the way to the trail to the Nanan Waterfalls.

I tried my chance and hitchhiked on my way back from the trail, and I didn’t wait 3 minutes until someone stopped. An old Taiwanese man picked me up, he was hiking on the trail with me on the last section and he recognized me on the side of the road and brought me back to Yuli.


  • WHAT TO BRING IN YOUR BACKPACK?

As usual in Taiwan, the weather is unpredictable. Especially on the East Coast, and especially in the mountains. You should get ready for anything and bring your raincoat as well as your sunscreen. Don’t forget your cap, your sunglasses, a hot jumper and some mosquito repellent if, like me, those bloodsuckers seem to have a crush on you.

There’s no place to get food past the Nanan Visitor Center, so better pack a big bottle of water (it’s only possible to get water in Jiaxin and Huangma, 5 and 10 km after the trailhead) and some snacks to eat on the way.


  • ABOUT THE HIKING PERMITS

From Jiaxin, the Walami Trail requires a hiking permit. I hiked the whole trail without one and didn’t get checked, but in the case you would like to spend the night in the Walami Cabin or hike further up (staying overnight at the Cabin is free of charge but you have to book in advance), I strongly recommend you to apply for a permit. It’s better to apply at least 7 days before the hike, and the thrill is that you can apply online via the Yushan National Park website. All you need is your passport, a local phone number and an emergency contact who’s not going to hike with you (someone being Taiwanese would be better). Once your precious hiking permit printed out, you need to get it checked at the Nanan Visitor Center.

APPLY FOR YOUR PARK PERMIT

You’ll also be required to get a ‘Mountain Entry Permit’ delivered by the Police -which is located right after Nanan Visitor Center. It’s also possible to apply online, although I haven’t found any English version:

APPLY FOR YOUR (POLICE) MOUNTAIN PERMIT


LET’S HIKE THE WALAMI BABY!

(Back to the top)


  • NANAN WATERFALLS

On the way to the Walami Trail’s trailhead, my Couchsurfing host, Damien, make a stop at the Nanan Waterfalls. It’s early in the morning and Damien is driving me up there before starting his workday at Yuli’s Church. For him, there’s nothing like a morning bath in the waterfalls to start the day!

We climb the railing, for it’s forbidden to go swimming there, but Damien tells me there’s no one around at that time of the day. We only meet one American guy who also came here to enjoy the quiet morning time for a swim. I put on my swimming suit this morning before heading off, all so ready to put my sweaty face underwater, but hell the water is so damn cold! I have water high up my waist, and I’m shivering. But Damien is right, he who’s jumping head first in the icy cold water: I’m now more than ready and all energized by this dip in the waterfalls to start my hiking journey in the Yushan mountains.


  • FINALLY HIKING THE WALAMI

The path is quite easy at the beginning, a bit like a stroll in the forest. I come across the old Shanfeng Police Station (‘山風’ meaning ‘mountain wind’ in Chinese). This police station was built in the 1920’s and abandoned in 1944 when the Japanese were defeated in WWII. There are many abandoned police stations like this one to be found in the mountains of Taiwan, they used to help the Japanese keep an eye on the indigenous tribes who were constantly resisting and defying the Japanese occupation.

After those ruins hidden under the green vegetation, I’m walking across my first suspension bridge, the Shanfeng Suspension Bridge N°1, which is offering me incredible vistas over the mountains (and some heart palpitations as well – even though I dearly love suspension bridges, I can’t ever silence my unstable shitty balance whispering me that I’m going to swing down in the river) and the gorgeous waterfalls I’m about to discover further up the way.


  • SHANFENG WATERFALLS

The trail is now leading me to a secondary path, as well as a great deal of stairs going down towards the Shanfeng Waterfalls. I allow myself a little break there, the place is well too charming not to stop to enjoy the view.

I’m soon crossing through my second suspension bridge, the well-named Shanfeng Suspension Bridge N°2, which is supposed to look exactly the same as it was in the 1930’s. Yes, my dear, even those huge steel cables haven’t changed ever since. On the entrance gate are engraved the Chinese characters -in a Japanese style- designating Shanfeng Bridge. From the bridge, I get another angle of view of the waterfalls, which are sneaking away to join the Lakulaku River.


  • JIAXIN

I keep on going on my merry way, crossing little bridges and little streams. I’m meandering under the cliffs, with the Yushan mountains on my side, and the valley of the Lakulaku River down below. The trail is a bit narrow on this section, but it’s thrilling, I almost want to jump around with excitement.

Reaching Jiaxin, the Chinese transcription of ‘Kashin’ which means ‘gorgeous scenery’ in Bunun language, the first and only rest stop/picnic and camping area on this section of the Batugguan Trail, I finally find toilets, drinkable water and a charming rest area where I lay down for a while and eat my spring onions biscuits. The Bunun tribe is one indigenous tribe of Taiwan living in the mountains. Jiaxin used to be a police station as well under the Japanese rule, for Jiaxin was located at the intersection with the Asanglaiga Trail, a trail going down to the Lakulaku River’s north bank where the village of Asanglaiga, a school for indigenous people as well as a health care centre were to be found.

I look at my map on Maps.Me with rising anxiety: I need to be back at the trailhead around 16:00 if I wanna make up back to Yuli for the drink (‘apéro’ in French) at the Church. If you’re curious about the details of this unlikely sentence, I’m inviting you to carry on reading and find the answer at the end of this post.


  • STROLLING IN THE FOREST

From now on, the trail is restricted to the only holder of permits. I don’t have any, though, but I try my luck anyway, I’m eager to see what’s next. I’m meandering through the forest for a while, then walking on a path made out of rocks and pebbles crossing a bloody impressive landslide. Is it still the path? Am I wondering from time to time, but yeah that’s the way, the little brown signs are here and there are those yellow bands preventing me from falling on the landslide.

There are several warning signs along the way about the Black Bears of Taiwan (as well as snakes, wasps, leeches and rock slides) and it’s starting to get on my nerves all those stories about deadly animals, to the point where I completely overreact and jump with fear at the sight of… a bird flying away. So long for my cold sweat followed by my laughter.

I truth, I also found some pretty nice new little friends on my way. Let me introduce you to them:


  • HUANGMA SUSPENSION BRIDGE

Then I come along Huangma, another former police station but there’s nothing left on the grounds. The place has since become a heaven for ferns, flowers and bees. From that clearing, I get a glimpse of those fluffy clouds decorating the mountains in front of me.

I cross some other little bridges, some other little streams, and I’m still enchanted. There’s this awesome stele in the middle of the forest, most probably some Japanese souvenir left when this trail was actually crowded. I’m then getting to the Huangma Suspension Bridge, of which carmine red is an elegant contrast to the surrounding greenery. The bridge is crossing the Huangma River, which is also twirling down towards the Lakulaku River.

After the bridge, I realize that I won’t have time to finish the hike, I have to go back to the trailhead if I wanna make it back to Yuli. I’m so close. Only 3,6 km left before the Walami Cabin. Even if I run (but why on earth would I do that?), I might miss my drinks with the priests. I have to go back now. I’m still proud of myself, I’ve been hiking 10 km (even if it was mainly flat in the end) in an enchanted forest, and I promised my Couchsurfing host, Damien, that I’ll be on time to share their Monday’s drinks at the Church. Even if I haven’t finished the hike, there’s still an unexpected night to come.

And it will surely give me a reason to come back and spend the night in the Walami Cabin someday.


SOME EXPERIENCES WORTH THE TRY IN YULI

(Back to the top)

 


  • A STROLL ALONG THE LAKULAKU RIVER

We can see the Lakulaku River from the trail, this one meandering through the Yushan mountains. Several routes and trails are following its way, and when the weather’s good, that’s an awesome spot to get a dip or to swim in one of those pools.


  • ANTONG HOT SPRINGS

Yuli is quite famous for its numerous hot springs, the water there can reach up until 66°C. In Antong Hot Springs, you can choose either to get a bath in the outdoor hot springs with an enchanting surrounding, either to get a Japanese style indoor bath – which means you’ll be fully naked like in onsen. The water there is supposed to heal superficial wounds as well as soothing your digestive issues. Well, that’s what I’ll call a perfect post-Walami Trail escapade!


  • A BICYCLE RIDE TO DONGLI

You can easily explore Yuli and its surrounding with a bicycle. There are some bicycle paths, and one is leading to the neighbouring village, Dongli. You’ll pass by Antong as well, riding on former rail tracks. On the way, you’ll cross the intersection of two tectonic plates, the Eurasian and the Philippines Sea ones. At the end of the trail, a former train station has been turned into a nice bicycle stop.


  • DONGLI’S ANCIENT HAKKA HOUSE

This old Hakka house is almost 100 years old! That’s one of the oldest houses in Taiwan. This one belongs to the Qiu family, and there are some really nice carvings on the outside and even an old traditional Chinese medicine cabinet. Visiting the house is free although the woman giving the tour doesn’t speak English.


  • THE BEST STINKY TOFU OF TAIWAN

 

If you’re thinking of spending one or two nights in Yuli before strolling on the Walami Trail, I strongly recommend you trying this awesome stinky tofu. That’s definitely the best I’ve eaten in Taiwan, I swear. There’s a huge queue in front of the place every night, and beware if you’re planning to eat inside: you’re going to sweat the stinky tofu from every pore of your clothes, skin and hair afterwards.

玉里橋頭臭豆腐 – Yuli Bridge Stinky Tofu – No. 15, Minquan Street, Yuli Township, Hualien County, 981


  • DISCOVER YULI’S CATHOLIC CHURCH

I’m nowhere near to be someone religious, even though every religion is somehow piquing my interest, if only from a cultural or historical perspective. As for the Catholic religion, I’ve been there, done that, so I’m familiar with the thing, thank you but no thank you.

So, how did I end up drinking beers with Father Yves and Father Maurice after my journey on the Walami Trail? Let’s say I just had another unlikely Couchsurfing experience. Damien, a French guy, hosted me in his place in Yuli, where he works at the Catholic Church. He introduces me to his job, but also to this famous church, famous because since I started to make my own researches about the place, it well seems like Father Yves Moal’s doings are crossing the seven seas.

Two French missionaries are now working for Yuli’s Catholic Church, Father Maurice Poinsot (who arrived in Taiwan in 1959) and Father Yves Moal (who arrived in 1966). Father Maurice got really passionate about the languages spoken by his parishioners (Chinese, Taiwanese, Hakka, Amis – in which he’s a fluent speaker) and even wrote a French/Amis dictionary which has now become a work of reference and helped improve some other dictionaries. As for Father Yves, he’s been nicknamed ‘the garbage priest’, for he’s helping people facing all kind of problems (former prisoners, homeless people, disabled people, unemployed people, etc.) to get socially rehabilitate through sorting and recycling garbage. He’s welcoming anyone in need in his church, even the travellers. Damien told me that he recently helped his previous Couchsurfer by paying him a train ticket and hosting him for a few days.

So, if you have some time to support the numerous projects of Father Yves, you’ll find in Yuli’s Catholic Church an energetic man with infinite generosity. You might even be lucky enough to sleep in the Church and share some drinks with the priests and the Church’s team. The Church is actually open to anyone, to relax, to study, to pray, to eat, to read -there’s a quite nice library in there, and Damien’s other Couchsurfer, Sylvia, was actually staying at the Church while I was there.

So long for a Couchsurfing experience in a Church.

MORE ABOUT FATHER YVES MOAL (Article of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Taiwan “Fifty Years of Caring for Hualien’s Disadvantaged—Father Yves Moal”)

MORE ABOUT FATHER MAURICE POINSOT (Article of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Taiwan “The Angel East of the River—Father Maurice Poinsot”)


  • SPENDING THE NIGHT IN YULI: THE BLISS INN 1719

The day I met Joan, I was on the train to Taitung. She was telling me that this day was a big day for her: that was the opening of her hostel in Yuli, the Bliss Inn 1719. I was sincerely encouraging her, disclosing her my own fantasies of welcoming guests under my roof, turning a house into a hostel one day. She said I was her first symbolic guest. But it took me a few months before I went back to Yuli… And there I found a really charming, comfortable and friendly hostel. Joan was all but smiles and telling us all about the places we had to visit while in Yuli. She also has a little collection of board games at the hostel, and as board games lover, this little detail definitely made my heart sing – as well as the huge terrace on the rooftop which offers a 360° view over the city.


When I head back to Hualien, I have plenty of panoramic vistas floating in my mind. Once I got over my deception of not being able to spend the night in the Walami Cabin (thanks typhoons, thanks maintenance works, thanks my shitty timing), I couldn’t have imagined living such an interesting Couchsurfing experience thanks to Damien, Sylvia and Father Yves and Maurice.

Even though I couldn’t get to the end of the trail on that sunny day of mid-September – because you can’t say no to an apéro at the presbytery – I still walked back my way hopping around, very much proud of myself and all those kilometres I’ve hiked, and so very much enthusiastic about the scenery around me.

I think I’m in love with Taiwan more than ever at that moment. I’m thankful for its forests, its waterfalls, its suspensions bridges. And moreover, for its unusual life experiences.


WALAMI TRAIL – WATERFALLS AND SUSPENSION BRIDGES IN YUSHAN NATIONAL PARK
Tagged on:                                                     

3 thoughts on “WALAMI TRAIL – WATERFALLS AND SUSPENSION BRIDGES IN YUSHAN NATIONAL PARK

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

WALAMI TRAIL – ENTRE CASCADES ET PONTS SUSPENDUS DANS LE YUSHAN


A la mi-septembre 2017, je quittais le World Inn pour quelques semaines d’aventures. J’avais pour objectif de passer au moins une nuit en montagne sur le Walami Trail. Mais comme c’était la belle saison de typhons, mon plan est (encore) tombé à l’eau. Je suis partie visiter l’île de Lanyu à la place pendant une bonne semaine (faudra que je vous raconte bientôt cette expérience inoubliable), et lorsque je suis revenue sur Taïwan, le temps était enfin plus clément. Je n’avais plus le temps pour passer la nuit dans les bois, mais je pouvais quand même tenter de faire la randonné dans la journée.

Et franchement, entre les cascades et les ponts suspendus, j’ai pas été déçue !

(Read this post in Engish, baby!)


Le Walami Trail est la première section du côté Est de la fameuse randonnée du Battongguan Crossing Trail, un trail qui parcourt le Parc National du Yushan de Taïwan d’Est en Ouest (et inversement). Il s’agit d’un ancien chemin construit au XVIII ème siècle puis restauré durant l’ère Japonaise pour garantir une meilleure liaison Est/Ouest mais aussi un contrôle plus accru des populations aborigènes des environs. On retrouve d’ailleurs sur le chemin d’anciens postes de police et des villages datant de cette période. On peut faire la liaison entre Yuli à l’Est et Dongpu à l‘Ouest en 7 à 10 jours environ, en traversant la chaîne de montagne du centre de l’île, sur 90 kilomètres.

Quant à la section du Walami, communément appelée ‘Walami Trail’, elle s’étale sur 14 km, et commence quelques kilomètres après les fameuses Nanan Waterfalls. Les durées divergent d’un site à l’autre pour faire l’intégralité de la randonnée et revenir, mais disons qu’il est possible de la terminer en une journée et 8 heures de marche en moyenne. La première section du Walami, jusqu’à Shanfeng ou Jiaxin, est très appréciée des Taiwanais qui viennent y randonner l’après-midi et profiter de la fraîcheur des embruns des cascades. Quant à la section après Jiaxin, je n’y ai croisé personne.

Si t’as dans l’idée de faire la totalité du Battongguan Crossing Trail, le blog de Robert Scott Kelly regorge d’informations utiles (mais c’est en Anglais par contre).

Tu trouveras aussi pleins d’infos sur le Site Officiel du Parc National du Yushan.


SOMMAIRE


INTRODUCTION AU WALAMI (t’as dit Salami ?) TRAIL

(Revenir au sommaire)


  • QUAND Y ALLER ?

Il est toujours mieux d’aller randonner quand il fait beau, mais le Walami Trail est assez simple pour pouvoir y aller toute l’année. Cependant, de Mai à Septembre, saison des typhons oblige, il peut y avoir de grosses pluies et des tempêtes, causant des glissements de terrains et autres éboulements : certains sentiers sont alors fermés pour raisons de sécurité. Certains sentiers sont aussi fermés en Février pour maintenance.

Il est donc mieux de savoir à l’avance si le sentier sera ouvert, et on peut s’assurer de l’état des sentiers en temps réel sur le site officiel à cette adresse :

VERIFIER L’ETAT DES SENTIER


  • COMMENT Y ALLER ?

L’entrée du Walami Trail se situe à 25 km environ de la ville de Yuli, environ 6 km après le Nanan Visitor Center, 4km après les cascades du même nom. A ma connaissance il n’y a pas de moyen de transports prévus pour s’y rendre depuis Yuli, donc il faudra prévoir son propre moyen de transport – vélo, scooter, ou auto stop.

L’avantage du vélo ou du scooter, c’est de pouvoir s’arrêter en chemin aux cascades de Nanan, qui se trouvent quand même 4 km avant l’entrée du trail.

J’ai testé l’auto stop à la fin de la journée, en revenant du trail, et je n’ai pas attendu plus de 3 minutes. Un vieux Taiwanais m’a pris dans sa voiture pour me ramener à Yuli, il randonnait en même temps que moi sur la dernière partie du trail, du coup il m’a reconnue sur le bord de la route !


  • QUE METTRE DANS TON BACKPACK ?

Comme toujours avec le temps à Taiwan, il faut parer à toutes éventualités et emmener à la fois veste de pluie et de la crème solaire, une casquette et des lunettes de soleil, un t-shirt et un pull chaud. Prévoir de l’antimoustique si comme moi les suceurs de sang t’ont à la bonne.

Il n’y a pas d’approvisionnement après le Nanan Visitor Center, donc il vaut donc mieux prévoir une grosse bouteille d’eau (il est possible de trouver de l’eau potable à Jiaxin, environ 5km après le début de la randonnée) et de quoi se nourrir pour la journée.


  • PREVOIR UN PERMIS DE RANDONNEE

A partir de Jiaxin justement, le sentier du Walami Trail requiert un permis de randonnée. J’y suis allée sans permis, et je n’ai pas eu de contrôles, mais dans le cas par exemple où tu souhaiterais passer la nuit dans la Walami Cabin (c’est gratuit, mais il faut réserver à l’avance), je te conseille tout de même de faire un permis.

Il vaut mieux faire sa demande au moins 7 jours à l’avance. Le bonheur c’est qu’il est possible de faire sa demande en ligne, sur le site web du Parc National du Yushan. Tout ce qu’il te faut c’est un numéro de passeport, un numéro de téléphone (local de préférence) mais aussi un contact d’urgence (de préférence Taïwanais) qui ne fera pas la randonnée avec toi. Une fois le précieux permis imprimé avec toi, il te faut le faire valider au Nanan Visitor Center.

DEMANDER SON PERMIS D’ENTREE AU PARC

Il te faut aussi un ‘Mountain Entry Permit’ (Permis d’Entrée en Montagne) de la Police Nationale – laquelle est située juste après le Nanan Visitor Center. On peut aussi faire sa demande en ligne suffisamment à l’avance, mais malheureusement je n’ai pas trouvé de version anglaise :

DEMANDER SON PERMIS D’ENTREE EN MONTAGNE


C’EST PARTI POUR LE WALAMI, CHERI !

(Revenir au sommaire)


  • NANAN WATERFALLS

Sur le chemin qui mène à l’entrée du Walami Trail, mon hôte Couchsurfeur, Damien, s’arrête d’abord aux cascades de Nanan. Il est tôt ce matin, Damien me conduit avant de commencer son boulot à l’Eglise de Yuli, et il m’assure qu’il n’y a rien de mieux qu’une baignade matinale dans les cascades pour bien commencer la journée !

On escalade la rembarde de sécurité, parce qu’en vrai il est plutôt interdit de se baigner dans les cascades. Mais Damien m’assure qu’à cette heure il n’y a personne. On croisera juste un Américain, venu lui aussi profiter du calme des aurores pour se baigner. J’ai mis mon maillot de bain ce matin, toute prête à foutre ma gueule sous l’eau, mais bordel c’est bien trop froid ! L’eau m’arrive à la taille, je frissonne. Mais Damien a bien raison, lui qui saute la tête la première dans l’eau glacée : je suis fin prête et toute pleine d’énergie pour ma journée de randonnée dans les montagnes du Yushan.


  • ENFIN SUR LE WALAMI TRAIL !

Jusqu’ici le chemin est plutôt facile, un peu comme une balade en forêt. Je passe devant l’ancien poste de police de Shanfeng, (‘山風’ qui veut dire ‘vent des montagnes’ en Chinois). Le poste de police a été construit en 1920 et abandonné en 1944 lors de la défaite des Japonais. On trouve de nombreux postes de police abandonnés dans les montagnes de Taïwan, ces derniers servaient à contrôler les populations aborigènes qui résistaient férocement au régime Japonais.

Après les ruines recouvertes de végétation, je traverse mon premier pont suspendus Shanfeng Suspension Bridge N°1 qui m’offre des vues incroyables sur les montagnes (et quelques palpitations aussi – oui j’aime d’amour les ponts suspendus, mais j’arrive jamais à faire taire mon équilibre instable qui me souffle que je vais basculer dans le vide) ainsi que sur la cascade que je m’apprête à découvrir.


  • SHANFENG WATERFALLS

Le sentier m’invite à prendre un chemin secondaire, ainsi qu’une bonne volée d’escalier pour descendre vers les cascades de Shanfeng. J’y fais une petite pause, l’endroit est bien trop accueillant pour ne pas s’y arrêter quelques instants.

J’enchaîne avec mon deuxième pont suspendu, Shanfeng Suspension Bridge N°2, qui est exactement le même depuis les années 1930. Oui oui, même les gros câbles en acier n’ont pas changé depuis il paraît. Sur l’entrée sont gravés en Chinois -mais dans un style très Japonais – les caractères désignant le Pont de Shanfeng. Depuis le pont, j’ai un tout autre angle de vue sur les cascades, qui s’en vont rejoindre la rivière Lakulaku.


  • JIAXIN

Je continue mon bonhomme de chemin, en traversant de petits ponts et de petits ruisseaux. Je serpente sous les falaises, avec à mes côtés la vue sur les montagnes du Yushan et en contrebas la vue sur toute la vallée. Le sentier est un peu étroit, mais diablement excitant, j’aurais presque envie de sautiller.

J’arrive à Jiaxin, la transcription Chinoise du mot ‘Kashin’ qui signifie ‘paysage superbe’ en langage Bunun (ça va les chevilles ?). Les Bunun sont une des nombreuses tribus aborigènes vivant dans les montagnes. Jiaxin abrite aussi un ancien poste de police de l’ère Japonaise, puisque Jiaxin se trouve à l’intersection avec un autre sentier de randonnée, le Asanglaiga Branch Trail qui redescendait jusqu’au village d’Asanglaiga, sur la rive nord de la rivière, là où l’on pouvait trouver une école pour aborigènes ainsi qu’une clinique.

A Jiaxin, je trouve des toilettes, de l’eau potable, et une belle aire de pique-nique où il est aussi possible de camper. Je refais le plein, je m’empiffre de crackers aux oignons verts. Je regarde avec un brin d’anxiété ma progression dans Maps.Me, il faut que je sois de retour à l’entrée du trail sur les coups de 16h si je veux arriver à temps à Yuli pour prendre l’apéro à l’Eglise (si tu veux comprendre en détails cette phrase abracadabrante, je t’invite à lire plus bas mes aventures à Yuli).


  • DANS LA FORÊT

A partir de là, le sentier est réservé aux seuls détenteurs du permis de randonnée. Je ne l’ai pas, mais je tente le coup quand même, j’ai envie d’aller voir plus loin. Je serpente dans la forêt un bon moment, prend des tours et détours sur une chemin de cailloux créé à même un énorme éboulis – c’est bien par là le chemin, j’me surprends à me demander de temps à autre ? Mais oui c’est bien là, mes petits pylônes marrons sont là de temps en temps pour me le rappeler ainsi que les bandes jaune fluo qui m’empêchent de m’égarer dans les éboulis.

On m’informe plusieurs fois sur les dangers que représentent les ours en chemin (mais aussi les serpents, les guêpes, les sangsues, et les chutes de rochers), et ça commence à me déstabiliser sévère ces histoires, à tel point que je me une frayeur de ouf à sursauter au passage… d’un oiseau. Paie ta sueur froide suivie d’un gros fou rire.

Mais en vrai, j’ai rencontré quelques créatures plutôt sympathiques en chemin. Tiens j’te présente mes nouveaux amis:


  • HUANGMA SUSPENSION BRIDGE

Je passe par Huangma, un ancien poste de police dont il ne reste rien. L’endroit est devenu un paradis pour les fougères, les fleurs, et les abeilles. J’aperçois depuis la clairière les nuages qui décorent les montagnes en face.

Je traverse d’autres petits ponts, d’autres petits ruisseaux, et je suis toujours enchantée. Je croise aussi une stèle au milieu de la forêt, probablement un souvenir laissé là par les Japonais, jusqu’à ce que j’arrive au pont suspendu de Huangma, dont le rouge carmin contraste bien avec la végétation des alentours. Le pont traverse la rivière Huangma, qui elle aussi va aller rejoindre la rivière Lakulaku en se tortillant.

Après le pont, je réalise l’heure qu’il est, et il va me falloir faire demi-tour. Si proche du but, bordel ! Il me reste à peine 3,6 km à parcourir avant d’atteindre mon but. Mais même en courant (non mais ça va pas la tête), je risque de rater l’apéro avec les prêtres. Je pèse mes options et décide finalement de rebrousser chemin. Je viens quand même de parcourir 10 km de sentier (même si c’est majoritairement plat sur la fin) dans une atmosphère enchanteresse, et j’ai promis à mon hôte de Couchsurfing d’être à l’heure pour le fameux apéro du lundi soir. Je coupe la poire en deux et je fais demi-tour.

Ca me donnera une bonne raison de revenir un jour passer la nuit dans le Walami Cabin, tiens.


QUELQUES EXPERIENCES A FAIRE A YULI 

(Revenir au sommaire)


  • UNE BALADE LE LONG DE LA RIVIERE LAKULAKU

On la voit depuis le Walami, la rivière Lakulaku qui serpente entre les montagnes. Plusieurs routes et chemins de terre suivent son tracé, et par beau temps, c’est un spot incroyable pour se baigner (au moins les pieds).


  • ANTONG HOT SPRINGS

La région est célèbre pour ses hot springs, ses sources d’eau chaude. L’eau peut y être très chaude -jusqu’à 66°C !- et l’on peut choisir entre des sources extérieures dans un cadre enchanteur ou des sources intérieures, à la mode japonaise des onsen.  L’eau y est supposée guérir les blessures ainsi que les problèmes digestifs. Une escapade parfaite après le Walami Trail !


  • UNE BALADE A VELO JUSQU’A DONGLI

Yuli s’explore facilement à vélo, il y a quelques pistes cyclables, notamment une qui mène à Dongli, le village d’à côté en passant par Antong, le long d’une ancienne voie ferrée. On traverse même le croisement des plaques tectoniques Eurasiennes et de la mer des Philippines. Au bout de la piste, une ancienne gare ferroviaire est transformée en étape de cyclistes.


  • LA VIEILLE MAISON HAKKA DE DONGLI

Cette jolie maison hakka est vieille de presque 100 ans ! C’est une des plus vieilles maisons de Taiwan, qui appartient à la famille Qiu, et on peut y apercevoir de nombreuses sculptures en bois ainsi qu’un ancien cabinet de médecine traditionnelle chinoise à l’intérieur. La visite est gratuite, bien que malheureusement non disponible en Anglais.


  • LE MEILLEUR STINKY TOFU DE TAIWAN

Si tu comptes passer une ou deux nuits à Yuli lors de ta balade sur le Walami, je te conseille d’aller essayer le meilleur Stinky Tofu de tout Taiwan. Et oui, j’te jure, j’en ai jamais mangé d’aussi bon. Il y a la queue devant le restaurant tous les soirs, et gare à toi si tu comptes manger sur place : tu vas suer le tofu puant par tous les pores de tes vêtements, de ta peau et de tes cheveux après.

  • 玉里橋頭臭豆腐 – Yuli Bridge Stinky Tofu, No. 15, Minquan Street, Yuli Township, Hualien County, 981

  • L’EGLISE CATHOLIQUE DE YULI

Je ne suis pas quelqu’un de religieux, bien que, quelque part toutes les religions attisent ma curiosité, ne serait-ce que des points de vue historiques ou culturels. Mais voilà, la religion catholique je connais, j’ai baigné dedans, et merci, mais non merci. Mais alors, comment je me suis retrouvée à prendre l’apéro avec les pères Yves et Maurice alors après ma journée exaltante sur le Walami ? Disons que j’ai (encore) eue une expérience de Couchsurfing quelque peu inhabituelle. Je me suis retrouvée à loger chez Damien, un français vivant à Taiwan, et travaillant à l’Eglise de Yuli. Damien m’introduit donc à cette fameuse église, fameuse oui, parce que quand j’ai commencé à faire quelques recherches, il semble bien que les actions du père Yves Moal traversent les océans.

Deux pères missionnaires français vivent à Yuli, donc, les pères Maurice Poinsot (arrivé à Taiwan en 1959) et Yves Moal (arrivé à Taiwan en 1966). Alors que le premier s’intéresse de près aux différents langages de ses paroissiens (Chinois, Taïwanais, Hakka, Amis), rédigeant même un dictionnaire Amis/Français devenu depuis un ouvrage de référence en la matière, le deuxième a été surnommé par les médias ‘le prêtre des ordures’. En effet, le père Yves aide les personnes en difficultés (chômeurs, handicapés, sans-abris, ex-taulards, etc.) à se réinsérer dans la société par le biais du recyclage. Il se fait un point d’honneur à accueillir quiconque dans le besoin dans son église, même les voyageurs de passage.

Récemment, Damien m’expliquait qu’il avait payé un billet de train à un voyageur néerlandais qui avait mal géré ses finances en voyage et l’avait hébergé quelques jours. En fait, si t’as du temps à donner pour les (nombreux) projets du père Yves, tu trouveras à l’Eglise de Yuli un homme énergique et d’une générosité sans limite. Même que t’auras peut-être la chance de crécher dans l’Eglise et de partager l’apéro avec toute l’équipe. L’Eglise est ouverte à quiconque en ressent le besoin, pour se reposer, pour prier, pour manger, pour étudier (il y a une bibliothèque plutôt conséquente sur les lieux). D’ailleurs, lorsque Damien m’hébergeait, il hébergeait aussi une autre Couchsurfeuse, Sylvia, qui dormait à l’Eglise pour me laisser de la place. Paie ton Couchsurfing dans une Eglise, quoi.


  • PASSER LA NUIT A YULI : LE BLISS INN 1719

Le jour où j’ai rencontré Joan, je prenais le train jusque Taitung. C’était au moins 6 mois après mon escapade sur le Walami Trail. Elle me racontait que pour elle c’était un grand jour : le jour de l’ouverture de son hostel à Yuli, le Bliss Inn 1719. Je l’encourageais, lui dévoilant mes fantasmes d’accueillir à mon tour des voyageurs sous mon toit, de transformer une maison en auberge de jeunesse un jour. Pour elle, j’étais sa première cliente symbolique. Mais il m’a fallu quelques mois à nouveau avant de pouvoir retourner à Yuli… Et j’ai découvert là un hostel plein de charme, très confortable et convivial, avec une Joan tout sourire qui connait évidemment les endroits à ne pas manquer dans la région ! Elle possède d’ailleurs une petite collection de jeux de société, et pour une férue de jeux de société comme moi, ce petit détail m’a définitivement conquise – en plus de la terrasse immense sur le toit qui donne une vue à 360° sur la ville. C’est aussi pour ce genre de belles surprises qu’il faut se laisser aller à parler aux inconnus.


Je repars vers Hualien avec des vues panoramiques de folie dans la tête. Passée ma déception de n’avoir pas pu passer la nuit dans la Walami Cabin (merci les typhons, merci les travaux, merci mon timing pourri), j’aurais jamais imaginé vivre une expérience de Couchsurfing aussi originale grâce à Damien, Sylvia et les pères Yves et Maurice.

Même si j’ai pas pu finir les derniers 3,6 km jusqu’à la Walami Cabin – parce qu’un apéro au presbytère m’attendait- j’ai rebroussé chemin en sautillant, toute fière de mes kilomètres parcourus, et complètement euphorique de ces paysages rencontrés.

J’aime Taiwan plus que jamais à ce moment-là, pour ses forêts, ses rivières, ses cascades, ses ponts suspendus. Et surtout pour ses expériences plus qu’insolites.

 


WALAMI TRAIL – ENTRE CASCADES ET PONTS SUSPENDUS DANS LE YUSHAN
Tagged on:                                                     

4 thoughts on “WALAMI TRAIL – ENTRE CASCADES ET PONTS SUSPENDUS DANS LE YUSHAN

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.