SAIGON EXPRESS


He’s taking me on his motorbike to show me the city. I’m getting kicked in the face by Ho Chi Minh City. When I first arrive in a new country, there’s always at least a little bit of cultural shock. I’m trying to grab the meaning, the direction, the movement of lives, of people. It’s not as much of a surprise because I read about Vietnam. I’ve seen so many pictures and movies.

But right now, on Alessio’s motorcycle, that’s a whole different story: I’m experimenting Vietnam through a complex range of sensations.

(Lis cet article en Français, bébé!)


I’m struggling to try reading the signs, the smell of the cooked rice is tickling my nostrils, my palms are sweating from me grabbing Alessio’s shirt. It’s hot in Ho Chi Minh. I’m mostly hearing honks. The traffic is pretty awful here, it makes my head spin. The night’s breeze is more than welcome on my damp skin. Almost imperceptible, the scent of frangipani flowers is in the air. The streets are colourful of fruits stalls, of flashing signs, of lights hung up in the trees. I’m trying my best to assimilate this overflow of sensations, mostly what I’m seeing: the river, the narrow houses, the pretty coffee shops.

The streets are spitting scooters like an enraged Vesuvio. From time to time, Alessio’s pointing at a building or a street, suggesting places worth visiting. But the motorcycle is going too fast, one building is hiding another, the streets are flitting past, looking alike, blending in my overexcited mind’s fog. My brain is processing too many pieces of a puzzle without knowing the big picture. It has trouble adjusting, focusing. District 1, District 5, I’m not grasping the difference yet: it’s just a succession of streets and lights, from which the meaning is still blurry.

I’m catching a glimpse of some remains of the French occupation, mostly cathedrals. I thought they might clash with the surroundings, but their height is coping well with the dampness, with the crazy pace of scooters. The riverside is more romantic, locals are there walking their dogs, jogging and chilling in the numerous coffee shops and bars around. Life close by the water always seems more breathable.

As Alessio’s motorbike is sweeping along, I’m recalling my other first impressions and I realize how much they are always so fast-moving. From the bus, the taxi, the subway’s windows, those first images are always landscapes flitting past. Too fast. I’m always trying to grasp some details: the architecture of the houses, the shape of trees, people’s faces. At night, it’s often only looking like a cluster of lights, some unfathomable Starry Nights in three dimensions. The first few hours in a new country always feels like being in a strange haze. Not fully comprehending where you are, the money, the language, the way the streets layout. The first strolls are seldom successful. You must keep your mind open, alert for a while before allowing yourself to any judgement.

I don’t know it yet, but Ho Chi Minh won’t make my heart skip a beat. Too big, too noisy, too messy, too stressed out. The former capital will look like a traveller’s nightmare to me: it’s hard to just stroll around, nose up in the air, without getting hit by a car or a scooter. Its touristic sights are minor. I have before my eyes a buzzing city, an economic and social pole that lacks beauty. I would look for some quiet space in churches and temples, finding the walk way too gruelling. I’m definitely not a city girl anymore.

The same question is always seizing the traveller when arriving a new place: is this place made for me? We’re apprehending new places like we would with a Tinder date: would it be nice to spend the night, and if so, could we hope a more intense adventure? Not even talking about love (yet), we’re looking for affinities, we’re comparing with our previous experiences. Seeking for those pounders in our stomach, of the desire to continue the adventure, or even to press the ‘pause’ button to explore what’s under our nose. Sometimes, the first impressions are prevailing: the connexion is obvious, sensitive. However, it also happens that time is needed to tame each other, slowly, dancing around each other and disclose some hidden surprises.


 This very night, I was trying my best to comprehend this ex-Saigon from all its pores. My eyes wide open, my eyes closed, my feelings surely open to any new possibilities.

There’s so much freedom in this eagerness for discovery. And you never know. It’s said that I fall in love every 4 mornings.


SAIGON EXPRESS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

SAIGON EXPRESS


Il m’embarque sur sa mobylette pour me montrer la ville. Je me prends le Vietnam, je me prends Ho Chi Minh dans la figure ! Quand j’arrive dans un nouveau pays, c’est toujours un peu le choc culturel, j’essaie de saisir le sens, la direction, le mouvement des vies, des peuples. Ce n’est pas tant une surprise puisque j’ai lu sur le Vietnam, j’en ai vu des films, des photos.

Mais là, sur la mobylette d’Alessio, c’est une toute autre histoire : j’expérimente le Vietnam à travers une palette complexe de sensations.

(Read this post in English, baby!)


J’essaie de lire les noms des enseignes, l’odeur du riz cuit me chatouille les narines, mes paumes transpirent de ce que je m’agrippe à la chemise d’Alessio. Il fait chaud. J’entends surtout les klaxons. La circulation est horrible ici, cela me donne le tournis. Le vent du soir est bienvenu sur ma peau moite. Y flotte, presque imperceptible, l’odeur des frangipaniers. Les rues sont colorées d’étals de fruits, d’enseignes clignotantes, de guirlandes lumineuses aux arbres. J’essaie d’assimiler ce déluge des sens, ce que je vois surtout : le fleuve, les maisons étroites, les cafés tous plus jolis les uns que les autres.

Les rues qui crachent des scooters comme un Vésuve enragé. De temps en temps, Alessio me montre un bâtiment, une rue, il m’indique des endroits où je devrais m’attarder. Mais la mobylette fonce trop vite, un bâtiment en cache un autre, les rues défilent, se ressemblent, se fondent dans le brouillard de mon esprit surexcité. Mon cerveau a trop de pièces de puzzle mais aucune vision d’ensemble, il ne fait plus la mise au point. District 1, district 5, je ne saisis pas encore la différence : c’est une succession de rues, de lumières, auxquelles le sens m’est encore à découvrir.

J’aperçois ça et là les vestiges de l’occupation française, des cathédrales surtout. Je pensais qu’elles jureraient dans le décor, mais leur stature s’accommode de la moiteur, de la cadence folle des scooters. Les abords du fleuve sont plus romantiques, les locaux y promènent leurs chiens, y font leur jogging et s’attardent dans les nombreux bars et cafés. La vie près de l’eau semble toujours plus respirable.

Je me rappelle de mes autres premières impressions alors que la mobylette file et je réalise qu’elles sont toujours mouvantes. De la vitre d’un bus, d’un taxi, du métro, ces premières images sont toujours des paysages qui défilent. Trop vite. J’essaie de saisir quelques détails : l’architecture des maisons, la forme des arbres, les visages des gens. La nuit, ce sont souvent des amas de lumières, des Nuits Etoilées en trois dimensions impénétrables. Les premières heures dans un pays se passent toujours dans un étrange brouillard. On ne saisit plus très bien où l’on est, la monnaie, la langue, la disposition des rues. Les premières balades sont rarement concluantes. Il faut garder son esprit ouvert, alerte, le temps de se permettre un jugement quelconque.

Je ne le sais pas encore, mais je ne serais pas conquise par Ho Chi Minh. Trop grande, trop bruyante, trop bordélique, trop stressée. L’ancienne capitale m’apparaîtra comme un cauchemar pour le voyageur : il est difficile d’y trainasser le nez en l’air sans manquer se faire écraser, ses attraits touristiques sont minimes. J’ai là devant les yeux une ville fourmillante, un pôle économique et social qui manque de charme. J’irais chercher le calme des églises et des temples, trouvant la balade à pied éreintante. Je ne suis définitivement plus une fille des villes.

C’est toujours la même question qui saisi le voyageur qui arrive dans un nouvel endroit : cet endroit est-il fait pour moi ? On appréhende les endroits comme on le ferait d’un rendez- vous Tinder : est-ce que ça va le faire d’y passer la nuit, et si oui, peut-on espérer une aventure plus intense ? Sans parler d’amour, on se recherche des affinités, on compare avec les expériences précédentes. A la recherche de palpitations dans le ventre, du désir de continuer le voyage, ou au contraire de le mettre sur pause. Parfois, la première impression est la bonne : la connexion est sensible, évidente. Mais il arrive aussi qu’il faille prendre le temps de s’apprivoiser, lentement, de se tourner autour, pour en saisir les surprises cachées.


Ce soir-là, j’essaierais de saisir l’ex Saigon par tous les pores, les yeux ouverts, les yeux fermés, les sentiments ouverts à toutes les possibilités. Il y a tellement de liberté dans cette soif de découverte.

Et puis on ne sait jamais. Il paraît que je tombe amoureuse tous les 4 matins.


SAIGON EXPRESS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *