MERRY KIWI CHRISTMAS!



After ‘Celebrating my 29th Birthday on the other side of the Earth’,

let’s celebrate Christmas on a remote island.

(Lis cet article en Français!)

Kisses from Fern Gully!

First of all, December in Stewart Island does not really rhyme with lights and decorations as I’m used to in Alsace. Some houses are a little bit decorated, but there’s nothing on the streets, no huge municipal Christmas tree. Maybe that’s because a lot of Stewart Island’s inhabitants are leaving Oban for Christmas in order to celebrate the holidays with family and friends in South (or North) Island of New Zealand. So, there’s not so much for feeling the Christmas vibe here.

December in New Zealand also means the beginning of Summertime. But apparently, it goes for all New Zealand except Stewart Island. Here, the weather is capricious, sometimes it’s sunny, sometimes rainy, sometimes windy, sometimes you’re freezing to death, sometimes you’re hot as a dog, and sometimes all of that can happen in one single day. So much about the cliché of Kiwi people in swimming suits grilling sausages for Christmas, it won’t happen here. Sorry to disappoint you guys, I’m sure you would have loved to see my fat ass in a swimming suit on some paradise beach.

Then, it has to be known that Kiwis doesn’t celebrate Christmas Eve (here’s another Alsatian tradition inherited from the Germans), they open their gifts on the 25th morning and have a gigantic barbecue for lunch. As I couldn’t skip the traditional Christmas Eve, and I’m working with Julius, who’s German, and that three other German guys are sleeping at Hilltop Backpackers (Tim, Julian & Jonas – yes, there are heaps of Germans here in New Zealand), Helen (our host’s sister) decided to celebrate a ‘German Christmas’, for my great pleasure!


DECEMBER 24th 2015 – CHRISTMAS EVE

Jam & icing sugar Bredeles!

After a morning spent working, packing the last arrival of the year of smoked salmon (goodbye smoked salmon, I’ll be missing you loads!), we drag our Christmas Big Fish (2, 250kg), a gift from the house, to cook our German Christmas Eve dinner.

But, before starting to cook, we have a perfect time watching Star Wars Episode VI, the last movie of our Star Wars marathon (we decided to forget about Episodes I, II and III, so as the world should) so we’ll be perfectly ready to see the JJ. Abrams’ one when we’ll finally leave this Island. “I’ve got a bad feeling about this…!” (Han Solo)

Julius is cooking homemade German bread, I’m baking Christmas cookies (‘Bredeles’ as we call them in Alsace) with Brenna, some scones, and some chocolate mousse. Tim and I are taking care of the salad, and we make carrot’s flowers thanks to this vegetable’s pencil sharpener. Isobel, Brenna, and Melody bake the traditional Pavlova and some roasted potatoes and pumpkin. Helen brings three chickens and some gravy (the famous brown sauce for the meat). Hell, that was a good dinner, and we stuff ourselves like pigs.

Two Pavlovas are always better than just one.

Helen has some gift for each one of us. That’s so lovely! I get a Christmas ball decorated with Tui Birds, and a lovely children book ‘Pee Wee the kiwi’ accompanied with a kiwi plush. Helen says that she couldn’t help offering a book to a bookseller. I’m very very touched by her attention.

My Christmas presents!

We spend the rest of the night playing cards, laughing and being stupid. When I go to the bed, the kitchen is a real mess. But I’m happy. I’m smiling. Satisfied about this Christmas Eve.

Tornado in the kitchen

DECEMBER 25th 2015 – CHRISTMAS DAY

Xmas BBQ! With Martin, Julian, Jonas, Julius, Brenna, Beth, Tim, Isobel, Melody, Edward, Nancy & Thomas

 

Today is a holiday in New Zealand so we’re not working this morning. I’m meant to Skype my family around 10:00 am, they’ll be in the middle of their Christmas Eve’s celebration. I bring my computer down to the library so I could have some Free Wi-Fi, settle myself on the outside bench and… it’s awfully slow. Maybe too many people are trying to Skype for Christmas, I don’t know, but it surely isn’t working. I try with my phone and manage to catch a glimpse of my mother for a few seconds and we’re cut off. I give up. And call the Italian lover instead. I just wanted to hear a comforting and familiar voice.

I go back up to the Hilltop Backpackers, a little bit frustrated, but soon forget about this incident. I have to cook some dishes for the Barbecue lunch. Nancy, the girl who used to live long term at the Hilltop and has finally moved into a HUGE house with other long-term travellers, Thomas, Martin, and Beth, has invited us to celebrate Christmas.

Nancy’s house is a happy house. Plenty of couches, a flowered wallpaper from the 70’s and surely the most amazing light switch of the world. Friends come and go, there’s a good vibe here, a barbecue with some sausages and of course some salmon, salads, potatoes, marshmallows… There’s even a chicken wandering around the garden. At the end of the day, Nancy is preparing mulled wine. Man, it smells like home…! I take a big smell of it and let my happy memories rise to the surface.

I like Nancy. We get along pretty well. This girl is a true badass. She’s going fishing Paua Shells in the depth without any wetsuit, swimming in the freezing Ocean almost every day and running on the walking tracks. I hold an endless admiration for this chick.

I’m also getting to know Melody better, she’s a fresh newbie helper at Hilltop. Born in China, she’s living in New Zealand since she was a child. She took a break from her stressful environment in Auckland to help on Stewart Island.

House of a thousand gems.

It’s crazy how every person that I’m meeting on the way has his own story, a tortuous path that leads to New Zealand. I also come to distinguish two types of travellers here. The ones having a break from ‘real life’, who came here after their studies having a break before finding a job. The ones having a break from their jobs for a few months or an entire year to travel. The ones who know they’re going back home, for they have a home, a job, a cat, a lover, a reason to come back. And you have the other ones. Like Nancy, like Selena, like Alessio. The ones who bought a one-way ticket. The ones who left their jobs (or the ones who went through redundancy, right?) The ones who sold their stuff. The ones without a home, a job, a car, not even a spoon, and, far from having a break from ‘real life’ went to live ‘another life’. The ones who thought that leaving was a matter of survival. Like me.


DECEMBER 26th 2015 – BOXING DAY

Golden Bay

Today is also a holiday. And the sky is bright blue and blindly sunny outside. Julius went off to walk the first part of the Rakiura Track until North Arm Hut (about 8:00 walking return.) As I might work at the Kai Kart (the fish & chips restaurant) at 17:00, I’m not going with him. We still walk the Ryan’s Creek Track together, which is way more beautiful now than it was a few days ago under the pouring rain. I also walk again to Fern Gully and have a picnic break over there.

On my way back to Hilltop, I find out that Holger doesn’t need me anymore at the Kai Kart. I’m now very much frustrated that I didn’t go to the North Arm Hut. And it’s too late to start the walk. I drag Brenna out for some other walks, to Evening Cove, Ackers Point, and RingaRinga Beach. We try (hard) to take jumping selfies – without succeeding- and got bitten by the bloody sandflies.

Selfie n°42

DECEMBER 27th – BACK TO WORK DAY

Christmas Tree on Braggs Bay

As all the work is done with the smoked salmon for the year, Helen is giving us some little works to do. Julius is building a door for the chicken fence. And trapped the ladder inside. The giggles are unanimous.

When work is done, the sky is still perfectly blue. This Sunday afternoon seems perfect for our Christmas Tree photo shoot on the beach. We drive until Braggs Bay, the boot full of Christmas Tree, decorations, firewood and… Marshmallows!

Sitting around the fire, we cook/burn some Marshmallow, and I make the fine speech to my fellow helpers. That’s my first Christmas away from home, away from what and those I know, from my own family, my own friends, my own traditions. And my mates made sure I didn’t miss those things that much. Thanks to their laughs, their jokes, this crazy Christmas Tree on the beach and all this gigantic amount of food we had. They, we made ourselves feel like home here in Stewart Island.

And I know that once the adventure will be over, we might never see each other again. But we surely had had a hell of a Christmas on Stewart Island. And I’ll never forget about it, for it was authentic, friendly and sincere.

Merry Kiwi Christmas!

Merry Christmas to all of my friends from New Zealand, Japan, France and everywhere else. Love you and miss you heaps.

***

PAVLOVA RECIPE:

(Read my post about the Pavlova for Pretty Wild World!)

Bake (or buy) a huge meringue.

Bake (or buy) some whipped cream to put on top.

Cut some kiwis and strawberries and put them over the whipped cream.

Here we go, here’s your Pavlova!

Isobel baked us a magnificent Pavlova!

LET’S GO THERE!:

STEWART ISLAND SMOKED SALMON, 11 Miro Crescent, Oban, Stewart Island

HILLTOP BACKPACKERS, 15 Whipp Place, Oban, Stewart Island



MERRY KIWI CHRISTMAS!
Tagged on:                                                                 

3 thoughts on “MERRY KIWI CHRISTMAS!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Merry Kiwi Christmas!

Après ’29 piges au bout du monde’, passons au Noël du bout du monde.

(Read this post in English, Baby!)

Des bisous Joyeux Noël de Fern Gully
Des bisous de Joyeux Noël de Fern Gully

Tout d’abord, sur Stewart Island, le mois de décembre n’est pas vraiment synonyme de lumières, décorations, comme je peux y être habituée en Alsace. Quelques maisons vont avoir un peu de déco, mais il n’y a rien dans les rues, pas de sapin communal, et pour cause, la majorité des personnes quittent l’île pour Noël afin d’aller passer les fêtes en famille sur l’île du Sud (ou du Nord). Donc, pour ce qui est de sentir l’ambiance de Noël, c’est loupé.

Le mois de décembre en Nouvelle Zélande rime aussi avec début de l’été. Mais apparemment ça vaut pour toute le Nouvelle Zélande sauf Stewart Island. Ici le temps est capricieux, parfois il fait beau, parfois il pleut, parfois il y a du vent, parois tu gèles, parfois tu crèves de chaud, et parfois t’as tout ça en une seule journée. Donc le cliché des kiwis en slip de bain pour Noël à griller des saucisses, ce sera pas pour Stewart Island. Désolée de vous décevoir, je suis sûre que vous auriez adoré juger de mon gras en maillot de bain sur des photos de plage paradisiaque.

Ensuite, il faut savoir que les kiwis ne fêtent pas le réveillon (ouais encore un truc bien alsacien hérité des allemands), ils ouvrent leurs cadeaux le 25 au matin et font un gros barbecue le midi. Comme je pouvais pas me résoudre à faire l’impasse sur le réveillon du 24 décembre, que je bosse avec Julius, un allemand, et que trois autres allemands occupent avec nous le Hilltop backpacker (Tim, Julian & Jonas – oui je sais, y’a beaucoup d’allemands en Nouvelle Zélande), Helen (la sœur de Gary, notre hôte) décide de faire un ‘German Christmas’.


24 DECEMBRE 2015– CHRISTMAS EVE

Après une matinée au boulot, à empaqueter le dernier arrivage de poisson de l’année (adieu saumon fumé, tu vas me manquer !), on embarque notre big fish de Noël (2,250kg), cadeau de la maison, pour préparer le repas de réveillon.

Mais avant de se mettre aux fourneaux, c’est le moment parfait pour regarder Star Wars épisode VI, le dernier de notre marathon Star Wars (sans compter les épisodes I,II & III que tout le monde est d’accord pour oublier) pour être fin prêts quand on quittera l’île à aller voir celui de JJ Abrams. « I’ve got a bad feeling about this… ! »

Julius prépare du pain fait maison, je fais des bredeles avec Brenna, des scones, une mousse au chocolat. Avec Tim, on s’occupe de la salade et on fait des fleurs de carottes grâce au taille-crayon à légumes. Isobel, Brenna et Melody s’occupent de la fameuse pavlova et des pommes de terres/potirons rôtis. Helen ramène trois poulets et de la gravy (la sauce brune qui accompagne la viande). On s’empiffre à n’en plus pouvoir.

Bredeles à la confiture & sucre glace
Deux Pavlovas c’est mieux qu’une.

Helen a une attention pour chacun d’entre nous. C’est adorable. Je reçois une boule de Noël avec des Tui Bird dessus et un livre ‘Pee Wee le kiwi’ avec la peluche kiwi qui va avec. Helen me dit qu’elle était obligée d’offrir un livre à une libraire. Je suis vraiment touchée.

Mes cadeaux de Noël!
Mes cadeaux de Noël!

On passe le reste de la soirée à jouer aux cartes, on fait les cons et on rigole bien. Quand je vais me coucher, la cuisine est un véritable chantier.

L'état dans lequel on a laissé la cuisine...
L’état dans lequel on a laissé la cuisine…

25 DECEMBRE 2015 – CHRISTMAS DAY

Aujourd’hui c’est férié, on ne travaille pas ce matin. Je suis supposée skyper ma famille vers 10h, ils seront en plein réveillon. J’me trimballe mon ordi jusqu’à la bibliothèque pour profiter du wi-fi gratuit, je m’installe sur le banc extérieur et là… Ca rame. Peut-être que trop de gens essayaient de skyper pour Noël, j’en sais rien, mais ça marche pas. J’essaie avec mon téléphone, j’arrive à entr’apercevoir ma mère quelques secondes, et ça coupe. J’abandonne. J’appelle l’Italien Lover à la place. Je voulais juste entendre une voix apaisante, familière.

Je retourne au Hilltop Backpackers afin de préparer quelques plats pour le barbecue. Aujourd’hui on est tous invités chez Nancy, qui vivait avant en long terme au Hilltop, mais qui a déménagé dans une maison IMMENSE avec d’autres travailleurs à long terme, Thomas, Martin et Beth.

Xmas BBQ! Avec Martin, Julian, Jonas, Julius, Brenna, Beth, Tim, Isobel, Melody, Edward, Nancy & Thomas
Xmas BBQ! Avec Martin, Julian, Jonas, Julius, Brenna, Beth, Tim, Isobel, Melody, Edward, Nancy & Thomas

La maison de Nancy c’est la maison du bonheur. Y’a des canapés partout, une tapisserie fleurie des années 70’s et l’interrupteur le plus classe du monde. Les amis vont et viennent, y’a de la bonne humeur, un barbecue, des saucisses, du saumon (évidemment !), des salades de patates, des marshmallows… Il y a même un poulet qui se balade dans le jardin. En fin de journée, Nancy prépare du vin chaud. Putain ça sent comme à la maison… ! J’en prends une bonne bouffée dans les narines, et je laisse des souvenirs chaleureux remonter à la surface.

Je m’entends bien avec Nancy. Cette fille c’est une vraie badass. Elle va pêcher des Paua Shells dans les profondeurs sans combinaison, va nager presque tous les jours dans l’Océan, et s’enfile des tracks en courant. J’ai une admiration sans bornes pour cette meuf.

Je fais aussi plus ample connaissance avec Melody, une nouvelle woofeuse fraîchement arrivée au backpacker. Née en Chine, elle vit en Nouvelle Zélande depuis sa plus tendre enfance. Elle a pris un break de son environnement stressant à Auckland pour venir faire du woofing sur Stewart Island.

Maison du bonheur, maison aux mille trésors

C’est fou comme chaque personne que je rencontre sur mon chemin peut avoir une histoire, un chemin tortueux qui l’a amené en Nouvelle Zélande. Je distingue nettement qu’il y a deux grands groupes de voyageurs ici. Ceux qui font un break de la ‘vraie vie’, qui sont venus après leurs études faire une pause avant de rentrer dans la vie active. Ceux qui ont pris congé de leur job pour quelques mois ou une année pour voyager. Ceux qui savent qu’ils vont rentrer, qui ont une maison, un job, un chat, un amoureux, une raison de rentrer. Et il y a les autres. Comme Nancy, comme Selena, comme Alessio. Ceux qui ont pris un one way ticket. Ceux qui ont quitté leur job (ou qui ont subi un licenciement économique, hein). Ceux qui ont vendu leurs affaires. Ceux qui n’ont plus de maison, de boulot, de voiture, pas même une petite cuillère et qui, loin de faire une pause de ‘la vraie vie’ sont partis pour vivre ‘une autre vie’. Ceux pour qui partir était une question de survie. Comme moi.


26 DECEMBRE 2015 – BOXING DAY

Golden Bay

Aujourd’hui, on ne bosse pas non plus. Et c’est un grand ciel bleu avec du soleil dehors. Julius s’engage pour faire la première partie du Rakiura Track jusqu’à North Arm Hutt (environ 8H de marche aller/retour). Comme je risque de bosser au Kai Kart (le fish & chips) à 17h, je renonce à la marche. On se tape quand même le Ryan’s Creek Track ensemble, qui est quand même vachement plus joli que sous des trombes de pluie. Je retourne à Fern Gully aussi, et je pique-nique là-bas.

En retournant au Hilltop, j’apprends que Holger n’a pas besoin de moi au Kai Kart le soir. Du coup, je commence à tourner en rond, frustrée de pas avoir été au North Arm Hutt. J’embarque alors Brenna pour d’autres balades, à Evening Cove, Ackers Point et RingaRinga Beach. On prendra des selfies à la con où on essaie de sauter –sans succès- et on se fera bouffer par les bloody sandflies.

Selfie n°42

27 DECEMBRE 2015 – BACK TO WORK DAY

C’en est fini avec le saumon, du coup Helen nous donne quelques petits boulots à faire. Julius construit une porte pour le poulailler. En enfermant l’échelle dedans. Le fou rire est général.

Quand le travail est fini, le ciel est toujours aussi bienveillant. Ce dimanche après-midi semble parfait pour faire notre shoot photo avec le sapin de Noël à la plage. On se met en route pour Braggs Bay, le coffre plein à craquer du sapin, des décos, de bois pour faire un feu et de… Marshmallows !

Christmas Tree on Braggs Bay
Christmas Tree on Braggs Bay

On s’en donne à cœur joie, comme des sales gosses.

Autour du feu, alors qu’on se grille/crame des marshmallows, je sors le beau discours à mes compagnons de jeu. C’est mon premier Noël loin de chez moi, de ce et ceux que je connais, de ma famille, de mes amis, de mes traditions. Ils ont fait en sorte que finalement, ça ne m’a tant manqué que ça. Grâce à leurs rires, leurs blagues, le sapin sur la plage et toute cette bouffe gargantuesque.

Et je sais que si ça trouve, une fois cette aventure terminée, je les reverrais peut être jamais. Mais on aura eu un putain de Noël d’enfer sur Stewart Island. Que je suis pas prête d’oublier, parce que c’était authentique, bon enfant et sincère.

Joyeux Noël!
Joyeux Noël!

Joyeuses fêtes à tous, amis de Nouvelle Zélande, du Japon, de France et d’ailleurs. J’vous kiffe et vous me manquez.

***

RECETTE DE LA PAVLOVA :

(Et mon article sur la Pavlova – en Anglais- pour Pretty Wild World)

Faire (ou acheter) une grosse meringue.

Faire (ou acheter) de la crème fouettée, que l’on dépose dessus.

Couper des kiwis et des fraises, et les déposer dessus.

Voilà. C’est la Pavlova !

Isobel nous a fait une belle Pavlova!
Isobel nous a fait une belle Pavlova!

Y ALLER :

STEWART ISLAND SMOKED SALMON, 11 Miro Crescent, Oban, Stewart Island

HILLTOP BACKPACKERS, 15 Whipp Place, Oban, Stewart Island

Merry Kiwi Christmas!
Tagged on:                                                                 

2 thoughts on “Merry Kiwi Christmas!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *