THE DAYLILIES OF LIUSHISHI SHAN


Between August and September, there’s something highly magical happening on a mountain on the East of Taiwan: the blooming of Daylilies, a very peculiar species of lilies that only bloom during twenty-four hours.

In Taiwan, locals harvest the Daylilies to cook them in some kind of soup or even in Hot Pot, but you can also find stalls on the mountain selling fried flowers.

(Lis cet article en Français, bébé!)

Sixty Stone Mountain

LIUSHISHI SHAN OR LIUSHIDAN SHAN?

This blooming can be seen on this mountain, North-East of Fuli, in the small village of Zhutian, which is called Sixty Stone Mountain, Liushishi Shan or Liushidan Shan (六十石山) depending on how you read the penultimate Chinese character “石” –the last one “山”(Shan) meaning mountain.

For there are actually two different stories behind the mountain’s name: first story takes place during the Japanese colonisation era (from 1895 to 1945) where up to sixty dan of millet could be harvested on this mountain, while the average for the other fields was around forty to fifty dan – ‘dan’ being the unit of measure valid at that time, 1 dan equalled 100 L. The same Chinese character is used for ‘dan’ and for ‘stone’, which is where the confusion came.

As for the second story, also taking place during the Japanese era, it’s telling that a camphor forest was discovered on the mountain and that, after being destroyed, all that was left were sixty stones scattered in the landscape.

This is where I ask myself if the mountain actually got its name from the legend, or if that’s its confusing name that gave birth to the legend. Between the chicken or the egg, the stone or the dan, the mystery remains.


AN OCEAN OF DAYLILIES…

In any case, whether you do believe in one or the other legend, this mountain could easily be named today the mountain of the 300 hectares of flowers! And even though some flowers are harvested for cooking purposes, a part of those fields is actually protected by the government so the blooming happening each year will remain such a spectacular and peculiar view!

The mountains and hills are then covered with an orange bed of flowers, which really contrast beautifully with the blue of the sky. It feels like an alive painting while the clouds are playing with us the game of unlikely shapes. On the top of the mountain, there’s a path leading amidst the flowers up to the Wanyou Pavilion – The Forgetting Sorrow Pavilion. At 964 meters high above sea level, it is said that all of our sorrows and sadness will fly away at the sight of this sea of Daylilies spreading downhill.


Settled amidst the orange flowers which are staining my fingers, there was a traditional Chinese music floating in the air. It was taking me some time to come to my senses, for the two hours’ drive fuelled my solitary daydreams to a point where I almost indulge myself into the twists and turns of my own mind.

Finally, a bit of fresh air on my neck! Finally, another ephemeral beauty saving my day.

It felt good up there. Actually, I wish I had spent the whole day strolling around.

Like my Quebecois co-worker said, “Driving two hours to witness some fields of wildflowers, it’s obviously leading to happiness”.

In the end, there’s only the unexpected beauty of landscapes that truly satisfies me.


LET’S GO THERE! :

LIUSHISHI/DAN SHAN (SIXTY STONE MOUNTAIN)


THE DAYLILIES OF LIUSHISHI SHAN

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

LES HEMEROCALLES DE LIUSHISHI SHAN


Entre le mois d’août et le mois de septembre, y’a un truc magique qui se passe sur une montagne à l’Est de Taïwan : la floraison des Daylilies (Hémérocalle en Français), une espèce spécifique de Lys qui tire son nom du fait qu’elles ne fleurissent que durant vingt-quatre heures.

A Taïwan elles sont utilisées comme ingrédient dans la soupe et le fameux Hot Pot mais on peut aussi les trouver en brochette frites sur des stands autour de la montagne.

(Read this post in English, baby!)

Sixty Stone Mountain

LIUSHISHI SHAN OU LIUSHIDAN SHAN ?

La floraison de ces précieuses Daylilies a lieu sur une montagne au Nord-Est de Fuli, dans le village de Zhutian, qui se prénomme Sixty Stone Mountain (la Montagne aux Soixante Pierres), Liushishi Shan ou Liushidan Shan (六十石山) suivant la lecture de l’avant dernier caractère en Chinois (石) – le dernier, 山 (Shan) voulant dire montagne.

En effet, il existe deux histoires derrière le nom de la Montagne : la première est que durant la période de colonisation Japonaise de Taïwan (de 1895 à 1945) on pouvait récolter jusqu’à soixante dan de millet sur cette montagne alors que la moyenne des autres champs était de quarante à cinquante dan – le dan étant l’unité de mesure de l’époque qui équivaut à 100 Litres. On utilisait le même caractère pour désigner ‘dan’ que celui utilisé pour ‘pierre’, d’où la confusion.

Quant à la seconde histoire, qui se déroule elle aussi durant la période coloniale Japonaise, on raconte qu’une forêt de camphrier aurait été découverte sur cette montagne, et qu’une fois rasée, on pouvait apercevoir soixante pierres éparpillées dans le paysage.

 

De là je me demande si la montagne a tiré son nom de sa légende ou si effectivement c’est son nom qui a engendré son histoire. L’œuf ou la poule, la pierre ou le dan, le mystère reste entier !


UN OCEAN DE FLEURS…

Dans tous les cas, que l’on s’accorde sur l’une ou l’autre légende, clairement on pourrait l’appeler aujourd’hui la montagne aux 300 hectares de fleurs ! Et quand bien même certaines de ces fleurs sont récoltées pour la cuisine, une partie des champs est protégée par le gouvernement pour que la floraison qui a lieu chaque année pendant une période très limitée reste toujours aussi spectaculaire !

Les montagnes et collines sont alors recouvertes d’un lit de fleurs oranges qui tranchent avec le bleu du ciel. On se croirait dans une peinture alors que les nuages jouent avec nous au jeu des formes improbables. Au sommet, un petit chemin est tracé au milieu des fleurs jusqu’au Forgetting Sorrow Pavilion (Wanyou Pavilion en Chinois) – le Pavillon des Soucis Oubliés. A 964 mètres d’altitude, il est dit que tous nos soucis et notre tristesse s’envolent à la vue de la mer de Daylilies qui s’étend en contrebas.


Posée au milieu du tapis de fleurs oranges qui me tachaient les doigts, j’entendais de la musique traditionnelle Chinoise au loin. Il me fallait un petit moment pour reprendre mes esprits, la route ayant attisé ma rêverie solitaire au point de me complaire dans les méandres de ma vie intérieure. Enfin, un peu d’air frais dans mes cheveux !

J’étais bien là, en fait, j’aurais pu y passer la journée.

Comme dirait mon collègue Québécois « Clairement, faire deux heures de route pour aller voir des champs de fleurs, ça y contribue (au bonheur des choses simples) »

Finalement, y’a toujours que la beauté inattendue des paysages qui me contente.


Y ALLER :

LIUSHISHI/DAN SHAN (SIXTY STONE MOUNTAIN)


LES HEMEROCALLES DE LIUSHISHI SHAN

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *