Goodbye Te Anau...

-MARCH 2016-

In March, I already know it, I have to say goodbye to Te Anau. I quitted my Banana Girl job at the Fresh Juice on March 11th, planned a weekend in Dunedin, then a 4 days hike on the Kepler Track, followed by a 2 days hike on the Routeburn Track and finally my flight from Queenstown to Denpasar was booked for March 27th.

In March, do as you like!

(My Milford Cruise was HERE, my Kitchen Hand job THERE, and my Banana Girl routine OVER HERE!)

(Lire cet article en français!)

I did it!

KEY SUMMIT

Key Summit

March is begginning with the ascension of the Key Summit. Located on the Routeburn Track, it’s 919m high –yeah okay it’s not very high- and offers an incredible view over the Milford and what used to be a glacier on the Hollyford Valley. I borrow Bubba again, my housemate John’s car, and drive to The Divide, the starting point for the Routeburn Track, on the Milford Road. It’s a 3hours walk return, if you don’t take in count the picnic break at the summit. While hiking my way back, I decide to continue a bit on the track, until I reached the first hut, Lake Howden Hut. Since the weather is sunny and warm, I chill a bit and lie down on a picnic table beside Howden Lake.

The return drive is hard though. Two hours driving the Milford Road feels like hell, I’m tired from the walk and the heat, the road twists and turns are tiring me, and the music is not really keeping me awake anymore. I’m having a lot of breaks, with dream-like landscapes all around me, and OH SHIT! I damage John’s car while driving backwards… I hurt this bloody picnic table. Looks like I underestimated the size of the vehicle. After reaching home safe and sound on Worsley Street, I apologize profusely like a kid who made a really big mistake… I feel so embarrassed! John doesn’t really seem to make such a big deal out of it – a guy who doesn’t really care about this scratch on his car, John, mate, would you like to marry me?


IT’S YOUR FRESH CHOICE!

Team Fresh Choice <3

I’m heavy hearted when I quit Fresh Choice and my Banana Girl routine. Here’s the place where I met the two most adorable Mexican brothers in Te Anau, Gové and Edgar, with whom I was able to reconnect with my geek side, thanks to our cinema session at the Fiordland Cinema (Deadpool, The Hateful Eight) and our endless conversations about TV Shows, movies (The Martian sucks!) and books we like. At their home, with Raùl and Jason, I used to feel like home, like being part of a crazy happy family. (Seriously guys, I have so much love inside my heart for you!)

But Fresh Choice is also the Night Fill team, my Spanish lessons on the produce department white board, my bananas and watermelons compulsive eating, my clock in/clock out with my fingerprints like in James Bond, my sunny lunch breaks in front of the library, and my sleepy mornings behaving like a dolphin (half awake, half asleep) because I was partying too hard the night before and slept only 4 hours.

The last days, I train Kevin, this French guy that I met while working at Bailiez, he’s going to replace me when I’m gone, and I’m partying way too much to be really efficient at work.

On Friday, March 11th, I say goodbye to my work space, my beloved fruits and veggies, the radio which was driving me crazy with Justin Bieber and Adele, and of course to my dear co-workers. My heart is heavy like a bloody rock, but I have no time to really think about it. I’m going off on a weekend to Dunedin with Gové, Edgar and Raùl!


CRAZY DUNEDIN !

 

Noisy Gang at the beach

In Dunedin, we’re hosted by Andreas, this Swiss guy I met in the Mexican kitchen a few weeks ago. He’s in Dunedin to pass a specific English certification for his international studies. In his share house, in the very heart of the student neighbourhood, on Castle Street, he’s welcoming us with his fellow students. I immediately fall in love with his house, in which you can find a lot of funny details, like posters, postcards and drawings on the walls. The party is getting started. Craziness, spontaneity, drunkenness, dances and giggles will be the key words for this crazy night. It’ll took us the whole week end to recover.

The next day, we’re going to take some fresh air at Tunnel Beach, where the lookout is stunning. And on the evening, we’re going to cheer up the Higlanders local rugby team in live. The stadium was roaring!

We finish this weekend lying down in the grass of the Botanical Gardens (I was already there, remember!) and listening to a classical free gig. We drive to the Otago Peninsula afterwards, chilling in this postcard-like beach: Tomahawk Beach.

I discovered another side of Dunedin this time. This trip was simply awesome, I met a lot of extraordinary people and laughed a lot! I’m really going to miss my Mexican team. The more I think about leaving Te Anau, the more I would like to stay…


Two days after that, I’ll be hiking alone the Kepler Track, but this is another (great) story.

Te Anau, I felt great in your company.

Some long lasting friendships were built here. Like friendships at first sight, you know.

I would have pushed my limits here again, Te Anau, by running, by hiking, by working sometimes 50 hours a week.

In Te Anau, I danced, danced, danced, as if there were nobody watching me. I ran, cycled, walked, hiked as if the physical effort was nothing to me. I started to acknowledge these new curves of mine as if I was never skinny. And I drank white wine, gin & tonic, cider and whiskey as if alcohol didn’t scared me anymore. In Te Anau I kissed some boys, without looking for love, I was just looking for tenderness.

In Te Anau, I was able to reconnect with the teenage girl I never dared to be. Thank you, Te Anau, I love you.

 

LET’S GO THERE ! :

KEY SUMMIT, Routeburn Track, Mount Aspiring National Park

FRESH CHOICE, 5 Milford Cres, Te Anau

REDCLIFF CAFE, 12 Mokonui St,Te Anau

FIORDLAND CINEMA, 7 The Ln, Te Anau

TUNNEL BEACH, Otago

BOTANIC GARDENS, 12 Opoho Rd, North Dunedin, Dunedin

TOMAHAWK BEACH, Otago Peninsula

Goodbye Te Anau...
Tagged on:                                                                     

One thought on “Goodbye Te Anau...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Goodbye Te Anau…

-MARS 2016-

En mars, je le savais. Je devais dire goodbye à Te Anau. J’ai donné ma démission de Banana Girl au Fresh Choice pour le 11 mars, prévu un week end à Dunedin, 4 jours de rando sur le Kepler Track, 2 jours sur le Routeburn Track et enfin mon vol de Queenstown pour Denpasar était booké pour le 27 mars.

En mars, fais ce qu’il te plaît, quoi!

(Les Milfords c’était ICI, mon job de Kitchen Hand c’était LA, et mon job au Fresh Choice PAR LA!)

(Read this post in English!)

J’suis au sommet!

Key Summit

Key Summit

J’attaque mars avec l’ascension du Key Summit. Situé sur le Routeburn Track, il culmine à 919m d’altitude -oui bon d’accord c’est pas très haut- et offre une vue incroyable sur les Milford et ce qui était autrefois un glacier sur la Hollyford Valley. J’emprunte à nouveau Bubba, la voiture de mon coloc John, et je me rends à The Divide, point de départ du Routeburn Track, sur la Milford Road. L’aller-retour jusqu’au sommet prend à peu près 3h, sans compter la pause pique nique arrivée en haut.  En redescendant, je décide de continuer un peu sur le Routeburn, jusqu’à la première hutt, Lake Howden Hutt. Comme le temps est superbe, je me prélasse un peu sur une table de pique nique au bord du lac.

Le retour sera difficile par contre. Deux heures de route sur la Milford Road c’est l’enfer, je suis séchée de ma marche, les virages serrés me fatiguent, et même la musique à fond parvient à peine à raviver mon attention. Je fais plusieurs pauses, avec paysages de rêves en fond, et oh malheur! J’abîme la voiture de John en reculant trop près d’une table de pique nique. Faut croire que j’ai plutôt mal évalué la longueur de l’engin. Arrivée saine et sauve sur Worsley Street (c’est là que j’habite avec John, Bruce et Ralph le chien), je me confondrais en excuses gênées auprès de mon coloc qui semble ne pas trop en faire cas – un mec qui s’en fout de l’éraflure sur sa caisse, John, tu veux bien m’épouser?


It’s your fresh choice

Team Fresh Choice <3

C’est le coeur lourd que je démissionne du Fresh Choice et de mon poste de Banana Girl. C’est ici que j’ai rencontré les deux frères les plus adorables de Te Anau, les mexicains Gové et Edgar, avec lesquels j’ai renoué avec mon côté geek à coups de séances ciné  au Fiordland Cinema (Deadpool, The Hateful Eight) et de conversations sans fin sur les séries, les films et les bouquins qu’on kiffe. Chez eux, avec Raul et Jason, je me suis sentie comme à la maison, faisant partie d’une famille. (Franchement merci les gars, je déborde d’amour pour vous).

Mais Fresh Choice c’est aussi toute l’équipe épique du Night Fill, mes leçons d’espagnol sur le tableau blanc du produce department, du gavage de bananes et de pastèques, du clock in/clock out avec mes empreintes digitales, des pauses déjeuners au soleil devant la Library, des matinées la tête dans le sac d’avoir trop fêté et dormi 4h.

Je forme Kevin, que j’avais rencontré au Bailiez, à prendre la suite de mon poste, et je fais beaucoup trop la fête les derniers jours pour être efficace au boulot.

Le vendredi 11 mars, je dis au revoir à mon poste de travail, mes fruits et légumes adorés, la radio qui m’a rendue dingue avec Justin Bieber et Adèle et évidemment mes collègues. J’ai le Coeur lourd mais j’ai pas trop le temps s’y penser. Je m’en vais avec Gové, Edgar et Raul passer le week end à Dunedin.


Crazy Dunedin

Noisy Gang à la plage

A Dunedin, nous serons hébergés par Andreas, un Suisse que j’ai rencontré dans la cuisine des mexicains quelques semaines plus tôt. Il est à Dunedin pour passer une certification d’anglais pour ses études. Dans sa share house, en plein quartier étudiant (oui Dunedin est une ville universitaire), il nous accueille avec ses camarades d’école. D’emblée j’adore la maison, pleine de détails amusants. La soirée peut commencer. Folie, spontanéité, ébriété, danses et fous rires en seront les maîtres mots. On mettra le reste du week end à s’en remettre.

Le lendemain, on ira s’aérer à Tunnel Beach, où les points de vue sont juste superbes. Et le soir, on ira encourager l’équipe locale, les Highlanders lors de mon premier match de rugby en live. Ambiance garantie dans le stade!

Et on finira le week end avec un concert classique gratuit au Botanical Gardens (où j’étais déjà, rappelez-vous!) et une virée sur l’Otago Peninsula, sur cette plage de rêve, la Tomahawk Beach.

J’ai découvert une autre facette de Dunedin, cette fois, du côté étudiant. Je ne regrette pas du tout le voyage, j’ai encore rencontré des personnes extra, et ce que j’ai ri! Ma team mexicaine va me manquer, clairement. Plus je pense à mon départ de Te Anau, plus j’y vais à reculons.

Deux jours plus tard j’entamerais ma rando solo sur le Kepler Track, mais ça, c’est une autre histoire (extraordinaire).


Te Anau, tu m’as fait vraiment beaucoup de bien.

Des amitiés durables, impérissables, se sont créées ici. De vrais coups de foudre amicaux.

J’y aurais aussi dépassé encore plus mes limites en me mettant à la course à pied, en randonnant comme une ouf, en bossant près de 60h par semaine.

A Te Anau, j’ai dansé, dansé, dansé comme si personne me regardait, j’ai couru, pédalé, marché comme si l’effort physique ne me coûtait rien, j’y ai accepté mes nouvelles rondeurs (salut, j’ai un gros cul) comme si j’avais jamais été mince, et j’ai bu du vin blanc, des gin&tonic, du cidre et du whisky  comme si l’alcool ne me faisait plus peur. A Te Anau, j’ai embrassé des garçons sans chercher à être amoureuse, juste pour la tendresse.

A Te Anau, j’ai renoué avec l’adolescente que j’ai pas osé être. Merci.

Y ALLER:

KEY SUMMIT, Routeburn Track, Mount Aspiring National Park

FRESH CHOICE, 5 Milford Cres, Te Anau

REDCLIFF CAFE, 12 Mokonui St,Te Anau

FIORDLAND CINEMA, 7 The Ln, Te Anau

TUNNEL BEACH, Otago

BOTANIC GARDENS, 12 Opoho Rd, North Dunedin, Dunedin

TOMAHAWK BEACH, Otago Peninsula

 

Goodbye Te Anau…
Tagged on:                                                                     

One thought on “Goodbye Te Anau…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *