CULTURES SAUVAGES #1 - LEARNING SPANISH IN ECUADOR


Cultures Sauvages (Raw Cultures) is a radio show on Radio Eponyme, a local radio of Mulhouse. The show was created in 2017 and talks about culture and especially music and litterature. Since October 2019, I’m doing a chronicle every month about my travels and I decided to draw something to illustrate my adventures!

(Lis moi en Français, bébé !)


The October 2nd 2019 show was about the start of the school year –“la rentrée” in French- and you can listen to it -in French- right here:

Cultures Sauvages Season 3 #1 – La Rentrée


LEARNING SPANISH IN AN ECUADORIAN FARM

Aaah, the start of the school year again, the new satchels, the smell of white-out, the boring teachers, and homework… Once you’re an adult, you put all this back-to-school feeling behind, except if you start having kids or worse! If you decide to be a teacher. Well, that was what I thought until I realize that even when you’re an adult you still crave to learn new things, and sometimes you even go back to school, follow courses and have homework to do!

The last time I decided to put myself through the joy of having homework was a bit more than a year ago when I freshly arrived in Ecuador without knowing a single word of Spanish. I became aware quite fast that Duolingo was cool enough to have conversations about a cat drinking milk – el gato bebe leche-, but it wouldn’t help me that much to ask for directions, and even start more intimate conversations with locals.


So I decided to learn Spanish. I volunteered in a farm close to Baños, about a hundred kilometres south of Quito, the capital of Ecuador. The farm was located in a tiny little village in the mountains, in fact, when it was sunny, we could see the Tunguraruoa volcano and its snowy summit from afar.

 In this farm lives Monica, a charming young woman who’s teaching English to the village kids. She was also my Spanish teacher. There’s also her husband, Holger, who’s a market gardener and a mountain trek guide, Emilie, their 4-year-old little girl who likes to draw and eat crêpes, and Monica’s parents, Wilo el abuelo and Alba la abuela. In this Ecuadorian family, only Monica speaks English, even though Emilie can count to 100 in English and to 10 in French. This little girl was so gifted with languages! I was also sharing my room with other volunteers from the USA, UK, Netherlands, France, Austria, … A true Spanish Inn!

Life was not so easy at the farm. There was no heating system, and the nights could be so cold I was sleeping with my clothes on in my sleeping bag with a mountain of blankets on top. The work was physical, we had to pick up tomatoes and weed the plantations of babaco, this big green and yellow fruit which tastes like Champagne. The plantations were scattered on mountainsides, we were sometimes working on slopes and we had to walk half an hour to get there. But on our way back we often found raspberries and blackberries to munch before lunch.

We always shared our meals together, and I loved to help cooking. The family was vegetarian so I could finally eat some Ecuadorian food without chicken! My favourite delicacy was without any doubt the colada morada, a hot and thick deep purple drink made with babaco, cinnamon and black corn flour. This treat was sweet and comforting, like a glass of glühwein after a long day at work.



My afternoons were dedicated to my Spanish lessons with Monica. At last I was starting to seize the present (tense), as well as the future, even though I was still struggling with the past (Rafiki in The Lion King was damn right, the past can actually hurt!) Step by step, as Spanish was coming together on my tongue, I could feel some freedom taking over me. The power of words. Poco a poco, little by little, I could tell my own story, what was hustling in my heart, in my guts. We had long conversations about our lives, in Ecuador and France. We talked a lot about love, books, politics, and ecology as well. Finally, we could have real conversations – even though they were full of mistakes and clumsiness.

I only planned to stay a week at the farm. I ended up staying three weeks, almost until the end of my trip to Ecuador: that’s always how it goes. The people, their smiles, their benevolence make me stay. We clean some tears with the back of our hands when it’s time to leave, like a piece of heart was ripped off. I left a piece of mine for sure in the living room’s wall, hung to my paper cranes. I don’t know if this family still thinks about me. I will for sure always remember my evenings drawing and learning new words thanks to playdough with Emilie. I won’t forget about the muddy paths, the alpacas, the taste of toasted corn.

Nowadays I’m struggling with my Spanish. Nothing compares to the life I had at the farm. Nothing compares to those flashlights of understanding, this feeling of ecstasy when I was understood by the bus driver or when I was able to order my hot chocolate properly. Nothing compares to living a language, instead of just learning it.


I’m wishing you all a study experience as stimulating and fulfilling as my few weeks in the Ecuadorian mountains. May you have a successful start of the school year, and don’t forget to take a walk on your wild side! 


Be a volunteer at à Runtun Farmstay


Stay tuned with Cultures Sauvages on Facebook


CULTURES SAUVAGES #1 - LEARNING SPANISH IN ECUADOR
Tagged on:         

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

CULTURES SAUVAGES #1 – MON APPRENTISSAGE DE L’ESPAGNOL EN EQUATEUR


Cultures Sauvages c’est une émission de la Radio Eponyme, une radio locale Mulhousienne. L’émission s’est créée en 2017 et propose des interviews culturelles notamment autour de la musique et de la littérature. Depuis Octobre 2019, j’y fais tous les mois une petite chronique autour de mes baroudes accompagnée d’un dessin illustrant mes aventures.

(Read me in English, baby!)


L’émission du 2 décembre avait pour thème “La Transe” et tu peux l’écouter dans son intégralité juste ici :

Cultures Sauvages Saison 3 #1 – La Rentrée


MON APPRENTISSAGE DE L’ESPAGNOL EN IMMERSION

Aaah la rentrée, les cartables neufs, l’odeur du t-pex, les profs relous, les devoirs… Une fois adulte, le sentiment de rentrée on le met bien vite derrière soi, sauf si on fait des gosses ou pire ! qu’on décide d’être prof. Enfin c’est ce que je croyais, jusqu’à ce que je me rende compte que même adulte on a envie d’apprendre des trucs, et que même adulte on se retrouve parfois à suivre des cours et avoir des devoirs !

La dernière fois que j’ai décidé de m’infliger le bonheur d’avoir des devoirs, c’était il y a un peu plus d’un an, fraîchement arrivée en Equateur sans parler un traître mot d’Espagnol. J’ai très vite capté que Duolingo c’était bien cool pour avoir des conversations sur le chat qui boit du lait – el gato bebe leche-, mais que ça n’allait pas m’avancer beaucoup pour demander mon chemin, voire passer à des conversations un peu plus intimes avec les gens du coin.


Alors j’ai décidé d’apprendre l’Espagnol en immersion. Je suis allée faire du volontariat dans une ferme près de Baños, une centaine de kilomètres au sud de Quito, la capitale de l’Equateur. La ferme se situait dans un tout petit village au milieu des montagnes, d’ailleurs, les jours de beau temps on pouvait apercevoir le volcan Tunguraroa au loin avec son sommet tout enneigé.

Dans cette ferme vit Monica, une charmante jeune femme professeur d’Anglais pour les enfants du village, qui allait aussi être ma prof d’Espagnol. Il y avait aussi Holger, son mari, maraîcher et guide de treks en haute montagne, leur petite fille Emilie, 4 ans, qui adore dessiner et manger des crêpes, et les parents de Monica, Wilo el abuelo et Alba la abuela. Dans la famille, seule Monica parle Anglais couramment. Et Emilie m’impressionne, elle sait compter jusqu’à 100 en Anglais et jusqu’à 10 en Français. En plus de cette famille Equatorienne, je partageais ma chambre avec d’autres volontaires, venant des Etats-Unis, des Pays Bas, d’Angleterre, de France, d’Autriche… Une vraie auberge espagnole pour le coup !

La vie n’était pas si simple à la ferme. Il n’y avait pas de chauffage, il faisait parfois très froid la nuit, au point de dormir tout habillée dans mon sac de couchage avec une montagne de couvertures dessus. Le travail était physique, il fallait s’occuper de récolter les tomates et de désherber les champs de babaco, ce gros fruit vert au goût de champagne, dont les cultures étaient éparpillées sur différents flancs de montagne. On travaillait en pente, et il nous fallait parfois une bonne demi-heure de marche pour y arriver. Mais sur le chemin du retour on trouvait parfois des mûres et des framboises à boulotter avant le déjeuner.

On partageait tous les repas ensemble et j’adorais aider à la préparation. La famille était végétarienne alors je pouvais enfin goûter des spécialités équatoriennes sans poulet ! Mais ma spécialité préférée c’était sans aucun doute la colada morada, une boisson épaisse et chaude d’un violet profond, préparée avec des babaco, de la cannelle et de la farine de maïs noire. Une boisson douce et sucrée, aussi réconfortante qu’un vin chaud après une longue journée de travail.



Mes après-midis étaient consacrés à mes leçons d’Espagnol avec Monica. Enfin, je commençais à saisir le présent, le futur, tout en galérant avec le passé (Rafiki dans Le Roi Lion avait raison : le passé, c’est vraiment douloureux). Au fur et à mesure que l’Espagnol prenait forme sur ma langue, je sentais une liberté s’emparer de moi. Le pouvoir des mots. Poco a poco, petit à petit, je pouvais raconter mon histoire, ce qui se bousculait dans mon cœur, dans mes tripes. On parlait de nos vies respectives, en France et en Equateur. Mais aussi d’amour, de livres, de politique, d’écologie. Enfin, on pouvait avoir de vraies conversations – même s’il y avait pleins de fautes et de maladresses dedans.

Au départ je ne devais rester qu’une semaine dans cette ferme. Et puis finalement je suis restée 3 semaines, jusqu’à la fin de mon séjour en Equateur : c’est toujours comme ça. Les gens, leurs sourires, leur bienveillance me font rester, on essuie des larmes le jour du départ, comme si un bout de cœur s’arrachait. J’en ai d’ailleurs laissé un petit bout, sur le mur de la salle à manger, accroché à mes grues en papier. Je ne sais pas si cette famille pense à moi de temps en temps. Moi pour sûr je n’oublierais pas mes soirées à dessiner et faire de la pâte à modeler avec Emilie tout en apprenant de nouveaux mots. Je n’oublierais pas les sentiers boueux, les alpacas, le goût du maïs toasté.

Aujourd’hui je galère pas mal avec mon Espagnol, il n’y a rien de comparable avec la vie que je vivais à la ferme, avec ces éclairs de compréhension, ce sentiment d’extase d’être comprise par le chauffeur de bus et de pouvoir commander un chocolat chaud. Il n’y a rien de comparable avec le fait de vivre une langue, au lieu de juste l’apprendre.


Je vous souhaite à tous de vivre un apprentissage aussi enrichissant que mes quelques semaines dans les montagnes Équatoriennes. Bonne rentrée à tous, et n’oubliez pas d’aller faire un tour de votre côté sauvage !


Faire du volontariat à Runtun Farmstay


Reste connecté avec Cultures Sauvages sur Facebook


CULTURES SAUVAGES #1 – MON APPRENTISSAGE DE L’ESPAGNOL EN EQUATEUR
Tagged on:         

One thought on “CULTURES SAUVAGES #1 – MON APPRENTISSAGE DE L’ESPAGNOL EN EQUATEUR

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.