HelpX/ Workaway, my volunteering adventures

CULTURES SAUVAGES #2 - MY LIFE IN A PRISON IN NEW-ZEALAND

CULTURES SAUVAGES #2 - MY LIFE IN A PRISON IN NEW-ZEALAND

As Halloween was around the corner, I found out a story which is combining both the orange colour and ghosts, as well as psychopaths, murderers, hanged men and handcuffs.
Can you guess what I’m going to talk to you about? No? Well, I’m going to tell you about the time when I lived in a prison.

CULTURES SAUVAGES #1 - LEARNING SPANISH IN ECUADOR

CULTURES SAUVAGES #1 - LEARNING SPANISH IN ECUADOR

The last time I decided to put myself through the joy of having homework was a bit more than a year ago when I freshly arrived in Ecuador without knowing a single word of Spanish. I became aware quite fast that Duolingo was cool enough to have conversations about a cat drinking milk – el gato bebe leche-, but it wouldn’t help me that much to ask for directions, and even start more intimate conversations with locals.

STORIES ON ALTERNATIVE ACCOMODATIONS

STORIES ON ALTERNATIVE ACCOMODATIONS

The other night I was invited to talk about my experiences when it comes to accommodations while travelling during a workshop about alternative tourism. It was all organized by the Enjoy’In hostel, which is a project to build a social and eco-friendly hostel in Mulhouse, the city I’m now living in.
I didn’t feel very legitimate to speak right after the Mulhouse’s tourist office and other touristic related companies. What could I bring? In the end, I decided to do as I always do when it comes to talking about travel: I simply told stories.

WHY YOU SHOULD START TALKING TO STRANGERS #6 - WORLD INN IN HUALIEN

WHY YOU SHOULD START TALKING TO STRANGERS #6 - WORLD INN IN HUALIEN

Like a family, we took care of each other. We cooked together after our shift. Emma used to help me to separate the white and the yolk to bake chocolate mousses. Vincent helped me getting train tickets out of the Family Mart’s vending machine where everything was written in Chinese. I used to go swimming with Emma at Our Beach. I used to sleep with Vincent at the 7/11 convenient store before watching some hot air balloons in Luye.

TRAINS ARE MADE TO CRY ON

TRAINS ARE MADE TO CRY ON

I wanted it wilder and more adventurous. This is why I chose to leave Taipei to travel the East Coast of Taiwan. According to my plan, I was supposed to spend two weeks in Hualien and explore the Taroko National Park as much as I could, and slowly make my way down south, stopping here and there.
But you know me pretty well by now, and you know that I suck at sticking to the plan.

ONE MONTH IN TAIPEI

ONE MONTH IN TAIPEI

I lived in Taipei for a whole month, volunteering in a hostel, which allowed me to get free accommodation et enjoy my free afternoons discovering and taming this new country I chose to live for a whole year. It’s hard to talk about Taipei, to list everything there is to see or to experience because the city is so big that even a whole month wasn’t enough to do everything I planned to do. And as I also like to feel the vibe of a city, I also spent some afternoons hanging out in cafes and bookshops, or Geocaching around Shilin while feeding the mosquitoes with my French sweet blood.

HelpX/ Workaway, mes aventures de volontariat

CULTURES SAUVAGES #2 – VIS MA VIE DANS UNE PRISON EN NOUVELLE-ZÉLANDE

CULTURES SAUVAGES #2 – VIS MA VIE DANS UNE PRISON EN NOUVELLE-ZÉLANDE

Comme la saison s’y prête bien avec Halloween, j’ai un sujet tout trouvé qui marie à la fois la couleur orange, les fantômes, les psychopathes, les meurtriers, des pendus et des menottes. T’as trouvé ? En fait, je vais te parler de la fois où j’ai vécu dans une prison.

CULTURES SAUVAGES #1 – MON APPRENTISSAGE DE L’ESPAGNOL EN EQUATEUR

CULTURES SAUVAGES #1 –  MON APPRENTISSAGE DE L’ESPAGNOL EN EQUATEUR

La dernière fois que j’ai décidé de m’infliger le bonheur d’avoir des devoirs, c’était il y a un peu plus d’un an, fraîchement arrivée en Equateur sans parler un traître mot d’Espagnol. J’ai très vite capté que Duolingo c’était bien cool pour avoir des conversations sur le chat qui boit du lait – el gato bebe leche-, mais que ça n’allait pas m’avancer beaucoup pour demander mon chemin, voire passer à des conversations un peu plus intimes avec les gens du coin.

HISTOIRES D’HÉBERGEMENTS ALTERNATIFS

HISTOIRES D’HÉBERGEMENTS ALTERNATIFS

L’autre soir j’ai été invitée à prendre la parole et raconter mes expériences en matière d’hébergement lors d’un colloque sur le tourisme alternatif organisé par l’Enjoy’In Hostel, un projet d’auberge de jeunesse éco responsable et solidaire à Mulhouse.
Je ne me sentais pas trop légitime de prendre la parole après l’Office du Tourisme et d’autres acteurs touristiques dont la profession est liée directement au tourisme et aux voyages. Qu’avais-je donc à apporter ? Finalement j’ai décidé de faire comme je fais toujours lorsqu’il s’agit de parler de voyages : j’ai simplement raconté mes histoires.

POURQUOI TU DEVRAIS PARLER AUX INCONNUS #6 – LE WORLD INN

POURQUOI TU DEVRAIS PARLER AUX INCONNUS #6 – LE WORLD INN

Un peu comme une famille, on prenait soin les uns des autres. On cuisinait ensemble après le travail. Emma m’aidait à séparer le blanc des jaunes pour la mousse au chocolat. Vincent m’aidait à acheter des billets de train à la machine du Family Mart où tout est écrit en Chinois. J’allais nager avec Emma à Notre Plage. Je dormais avec Vincent au 7/11 de Luye pour aller voir les montgolfières.

LES TRAINS SONT FAITS POUR PLEURER

LES TRAINS SONT FAITS POUR PLEURER

Je voulais plus de nature, je voulais plus d’aventures, et je m’étais décidée à quitter Taipei et partir pour l’Est de Taïwan. Mon plan, passer deux semaines à Hualien pour pouvoir explorer le Parc National de Taroko et les environs, puis faire doucement mon chemin vers le Sud.

Sauf que, toi-même tu sais, je suis plutôt nulle en ce qui concerne les plans.

UN MOIS A TAIPEI

UN MOIS A TAIPEI

J’ai vécu un mois à Taipei, en faisant du HelpX dans un hostel principalement, ce qui me permettait de ne pas payer pour mon hébergement et d’avoir mes aprèms de libres pour visiter et apprivoiser ce nouveau pays. C’est assez difficile de parler de Taipei, d’en lister toutes les choses à voir et à faire, car la ville est si grande que même un mois n’était pas suffisant pour faire toute ce que j’avais prévu d’y faire. Et comme j’ai tendance à vouloir aussi ressentir ‘l’atmosphère’ d’un endroit, j’ai passé quelques après-midis à traîner dans des cafés ou des librairies, ou bien à faire du Geocaching dans les environs de Shilin – en nourrissant des hordes de moustiques au passage avec mon sang bien sucré de Française.