A GARDEN IN THE ANJOU REGION - BACK TO THE ROOTS



That’s quite a beautiful name, Fleur du Lac – Flowers of the Lake.

It’s sweet, it’s poetic, it’s bucolic. It always reminds me of this big garden, those cats sleeping on plastic chairs, this veranda in which the sun is dancing on crockery.

(Lis cet article en Français!)


We tried to do the maths in the car. How many years had it been since I was here for the last time? 5 years? 7 years? Years are running fast. And the Anjou region is far from Alsace. At least, that’s how I used to consider it. How does it change your conception of time and space when you take a year time to travel around a whole country like New Zealand? It seems to have made a huge difference, for my 7 hours bus ride from Strasbourg to Paris didn’t seem that much to me anymore. We should allow us to take the time to travel, sometimes. Kilometres are scrolling at the landscapes rhythm. The passenger in the seat in front of you is giving you some sweet chocolates. And you finally have time to finish this book you’ve been dragging around for the past month. You increased your awareness of the distance you’re covering, you can almost feel the sweet caress of those kilometres on your hair and the nice fragrance of air changing slightly.

Fleurs du Lac is always bringing up some warm and smooth nostalgia, a peaceful childhood spent munching strawberries and raspberries I was picking every morning for breakfast. It brings up fruits, flowers and cooking scents. A taste of a typical French gastronomy based on prunes pies, homemade pate, homemade redcurrant wine. You just have to eat and laugh in here. And let yourself go on some walks by the Loire and Layon rivers. The more I think about it, the more I realise how Anjou is way more close to the idea I have of France than my native region of Alsace. Because Anjou has this rustic character with its famous castles, those stone buildings, those veggies coming from the garden.

Fleurs du Lac was a kind of shelter for me. I took few breaks here, impregnate myself of this garden vibe, in silence. This is a peculiar place for it’s resonating of my father.

Every time, and it’s been more than 15 years now, I’m trying to pick up the pieces there. To gather the pieces of my father’s puzzle. To resolve his enigma. It takes a long time to mourn. One says that you never really quite recover from it. Every time I feel like I’m reaching the end of the mourning journey, the final step that makes me feel that this time it’s the real one, I’m feeling really better, well, I come to discover there’s an another top level above that I have to hike up. My mourning is an evolving experience, like an upside-down iceberg I’d be climbing. And it took a one-year journey on the other side of the world to cut the cord with my dead father. It took a one-year journey to expose myself and release the words – especially here on the blog. Although, once this was done, what’s the next step? Have I reached the ultimate level? Coming back to Fleur du Lac is a kind of test. Will my nostalgia pinch my heart?

Furthermore, I also had to reconnect. To get back to the roots. Since I came back to France, I feel like a child. I have to learn again how to mingle and blend in, I have to learn again some social codes, I even have to learn again some forgotten idioms. I spend my time trying to reconnect with people. Trying to restore few automatisms, few private jokes, a bit of trust. And obviously, I’m failing sometimes. I’m putting a lot of energy trying to reconnect with my family though, so I could finally find my place on the family’s branches. I’m trying to define who the hell I am by identifying where I come from.

For I left because I lost pieces of my own self. I’d lost the best job in the world (I used to be a bookseller if you’re asking) and two great loves successively. I was washed out, shivering and quivering. Like an amnesiac castaway. Since then, the question of identity had been much enlightening, much intriguing, and yet much complicated. I’d lived at least 42 lives while I was away, disclosing aspects of my personality I never knew existed.

Then, I could let those aspects out more easily, those other ‘me’, for I was far away from my close ones. For a year I have lived with no other glimpse at myself than my own –and some stranger’s too, of course, but their judgment had almost no effect on me. The reason I was able to go hike solo, to hitchhike solo, to start running, to make out (and more…) with perfect strangers, to drink and get (really) wasted like I could have done when I was 17, to quit smoking (and start again, and quit again, and start again, and…), well. The reason I was able to try these new things, the reason I could be someone able to do that, it’s because no one in this country knew who I was, no one had assumptions about me and the one I’m supposed to be in the eyes of my closed ones. It was a true experience of freedom. It sounds really ‘hippie-flower power-let’s quit everything and breed sheep in the mountains’ to say so, but travelling made me discover myself. Travelling made me realise how multiple I am (and not in a creepy way) and that I am not, and will never be set in stone. Travelling made me understand that I could actually be the person I would like to be – or that I could at least give it a try.

At Fleurs du Lac, I see that I can put some pieces of that puzzle together. I can cross-check some of my childhood’s aspects: it’s no coincidence that I like flowers and plants so much. It’s no accident that nature is calming me down, and nothing compares to a cat purring on my knees, or a long walk with a dog in the fields. It’s no coincidence that I like being surrounded by people so much, even though I might remain silent. It’s like I had forgotten about it. At Fleurs du Lac, it can finally explain why I’m so attracted to community living, why I needed for the past few months to make those Couchsurfer’s travel stories resonate in the walls of my room in Strasbourg. Here, there’s always food and drinks on the table for guests, or even strangers. My aunt is telling me how my father used to invite over complete strangers at home to share meals. Everyone thought these people were friends of his, although they were actually complete strangers he just had met, at work, on the street, at the Post office, you see. My father used to invite over complete strangers, without asking anything else in return than the joy to share. ‘That’s Couchsurfing before the web’, says my aunt, grinning.

Maybe my father tried to communicate those values to me. Or maybe he would have had wanted to. But we got eaten alive by the city, both of us. So much that I had forgotten about it. We got eaten alive by Time, too, but there’s actually no time anymore for those regrets. To reconnect with my family is all about putting back this puzzle together, giving a prequel to this story of mine.

I’m glad this garden remains. It’s changing a bit, from year to year, but I can still overlay my childhood memories in there, using filters and layers of family parties, listening to the cricket’s evenings, and lying in the grass watching clouds kinds of day. Even the star lights seem highly familiar in here.


I just got my Taiwan Working Holiday Visa, really set on tempting a new kind of adventure. However. Today, I have a small voice in my head, most probably my little girl’s voice, saying that maybe the place I’m endlessly looking for is here. In this garden. With that ginger cat on my knees.

For there are so many things to learn still, and so many pieces of that puzzle to put back together. 


LET’S GO THERE!

GOING TO ANGERS THANKS TO FLIXBUS

A GARDEN IN THE ANJOU REGION - BACK TO THE ROOTS
Tagged on:                                     

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

UN JARDIN EN ANJOU – RETOUR AUX SOURCES



C’est un beau nom, Fleurs du Lac. C’est doux, c’est poétique, bucolique.

Ça m’évoque forcément ce grand jardin, ces chats se prélassant sur des chaises en plastique, cette véranda qui fait danser le soleil sur la vaisselle.

(Read me in English, baby!)


On essayait de faire le calcul dans la voiture. Depuis combien d’années n’y avais-je pas mis les pieds ? 5 ans ? 7 ans ? Les années défilent à une vitesse. Et c’est loin l’Anjou depuis l’Alsace. Enfin, c’est comme ça que je l’avais toujours considéré. Est-ce que ça te change ta notion d’espace et de temps de prendre le temps de découvrir en long, en large et en travers un pays comme la Nouvelle-Zélande sur une année ? On dirait bien que oui. Les trajets en bus qui durent 7 heures pour aller à Paris ne me semblent plus si pire. On devrait s’autoriser à prendre le temps de voyager, parfois. Les kilomètres défilent au rythme des paysages, le passager du siège devant toi te refile des chocolats, et tu prends enfin le temps de finir ce roman que tu traines depuis un mois. On acquiert une conscience accrue de la distance parcourue, on pourrait presque sentir la caresse des kilomètres sur nos cheveux et le parfum de l’air qui change.

Fleurs du Lac m’évoque toujours une douce nostalgie, une enfance calme et posée à boulotter les fraises et les framboises du jardin, un Tupperware à la main, pour le petit déjeuner. Ça m’évoque des senteurs de fruits, de fleurs, de bouffe. Un goût de gastronomie typiquement française à base de tarte aux pruneaux, de pâtés faits maison, d’eaux de vie de castilles. Ici, il suffit de rire et manger. De se laisser porter par des balades le long de la Loire et du Layon. Quand j’y pense, l’Anjou m’évoque toujours bien plus la France que ma région natale, l’Alsace. Il y a ce côté rustique, ces fameux châteaux, ces bâtisses en pierre, ces légumes du jardin.

J’y ai souvent trouvé refuge finalement, à Fleurs du Lac. J’y ai pris des pauses, à m’imprégner du jardin, dans le silence. Ce lieu est particulier, il résonne de mon père.

A chaque fois, et ce depuis plus de 15 ans, j’essaie d’y recoller les morceaux. De reformer le puzzle de mon paternel, de comprendre son énigme… Pour comprendre mon énigme. C’est long, un deuil. Il paraît qu’on ne s’en remet jamais vraiment. A chaque fois que je pense avoir atteint le dernier palier, que je me dis que cette fois c’est la bonne, j’ai l’air en meilleure forme ; et bien je découvre d’autres paliers, d’autres sommets à escalader. Mon deuil est une expérience qui évolue, se transforme, un iceberg à l’envers dont je ne verrais pas le sommet. Il m’aura fallu partir une année entière à l’autre bout du monde pour couper le cordon avec un mort. Et libérer les mots, notamment ici. Mais… Une fois cela fait, quelle est la prochaine étape ? Suis-je arrivée au palier ultime ? Revenir à Fleurs du Lac, c’est un genre de test. Ma nostalgie va-t-elle me piquer le cœur ?

Mais outre cela, il me fallait reconnecter. Revenir à la source. Depuis mon retour en France, j’ai l’impression d’être une enfant. Je dois réapprendre à me fondre dans la masse, je dois réapprendre certains codes sociaux, je réapprends même des expressions que j’avais oubliées. Je passe mon temps à essayer de me reconnecter aux gens. A réinstaurer quelques automatismes, quelques private jokes, quelque confiance. Il y a des échecs évidemment, mais je mets beaucoup d’énergie à reconnecter avec ma famille, pour me positionner sur les branchages familiaux. Je suis en train de tenter de cerner qui je suis en établissant d’où je viens.

Quand je suis partie, c’était parce que j’avais perdu des bouts d’identité. J’avais perdu le meilleur job du monde (si tu te demandes, j’étais libraire), et successivement deux grands amours. J’en étais lessivée, grelottante et pantelante, comme un naufragé amnésique. La question de l’identité est depuis lors un apprentissage ô combien enrichissant, ô combien intriguant mais surtout sacrément compliqué. J’ai vécu 42 vies minimum lors de mes voyages, comme si je découvrais tour à tour des facettes de ma personnalité que je ne connaissais même pas.

Et je pouvais plus facilement les laisser sortir ces facettes, ces autres moi, justement parce que j’étais coupée de mes proches. Pendant une année j’ai vécu sans autre regard sur moi que le mien –et celui d’inconnus dont le jugement ne m’intéressait guère. Si j’ai pu partir randonner en solo, si j’ai pu faire de l’auto stop, si j’ai pu me mettre à la course, si j’ai pu flirter (et affinités) avec de parfaits inconnus, si j’ai pu me mettre des mines comme si j’avais 17 ans, si j’ai pu arrêter de fumer, etc, etc. Si j’ai pu essayer tout ça, si j’ai pu être celle qui est capable de tout ça, c’est bien parce que personne dans ce pays ne savait qui j’étais, et n’avait d’aprioris sur celle que je suis supposée être aux regards de mes proches. C’est très hippie/bobo/flowerpower de dire ça, mais bordel c’est en voyage que je me suis découverte. Que j’ai découvert à quel point j’étais multiple et surtout, en aucun cas figée. Que je pouvais être ce que je voulais être – ou tout du moins essayer.

A Fleur du Lac, je vois bien que j’arrive à recouper certaines de ces facettes avec mon enfance. Ce n’est pas un hasard si j’aime tant les fleurs, les plantes, si la nature m’apaise et que rien ne m’est plus agréable que le ronron d’un chat sur mes genoux ou la promenade matinale d’un chien en campagne. Ce n’est pas un hasard si j’aime être autant entourée, quand bien même je resterais silencieuse. J’avais juste oublié. A Fleurs du Lac je m’explique cette attirance pour la communauté, ce besoin que j’ai depuis plusieurs mois de faire résonner les histoires de voyage de ces Couchsurfeurs sur les murs de ma chambre. Ici, il y aura toujours à manger et à boire pour des invités, voire pour des inconnus. Ma tante me raconte justement comment mon paternel invitait sans vergogne des gens à la maison régulièrement pour partager un repas. Des gens que tout le monde prenait pour ses amis alors qu’en fait il venait de les rencontrer le jour même, au travail, dans la rue, à la Poste, tu vois. Mon père invitait de parfaits inconnus chez lui, sans rien demander en échange que le partage. « C’est le Couchsurfing avant le web » me souffle ma tante dans un sourire.

Peut-être que mon père essayait de me transmettre ces valeurs-là, ou peut-être qu’il l’aurait voulu. Mais on s’est bien fait bouffés par la ville tous les deux. A tel point que j’avais oublié. On s’est fait bouffé notre temps aussi, mais l’heure n’est plus aux regrets sur ce point-là. Reconnecter avec ma famille, c’est aussi ça finalement, un moyen de remettre le puzzle en ordre, de donner un prologue à cette histoire qui est la mienne.

Je suis contente qu’il reste là, ce jardin. Il change un peu, d’années en années, mais j’arrive toujours à y superposer mes souvenirs, à appliquer des calques et des filtres de soirées familiales, de journées à se prélasser dans l’herbe à regarder les nuages et écouter les criquets du soir. Même la lueur des étoiles me semble familière.


Je viens juste d’obtenir mon visa pour Taïwan, déterminée à tenter une nouvelle aventure. Mais aujourd’hui j’ai une petite voix qui me dit, ma voix de petite fille certainement, que peut être l’endroit que je cherche tant est simplement ici. Dans ce jardin, avec ce chat roux sur mes genoux.

Parce qu’il reste encore sacrément beaucoup de choses à apprendre et de morceaux de puzzle à remettre en place.


Y ALLER:

ALLER A ANGERS VIA FLIXBUS



UN JARDIN EN ANJOU – RETOUR AUX SOURCES
Tagged on:                         

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *